Newest Tale

Older Tales

Mail the Herder

About the Mongols


Leave Me a Note


Wednesday, April 12

hosted by DiaryLand.com


Tales from the Steppes


2006-04-18

9:58 a.m.
Tuesday, April 18

I'm not between you and your ambition
I am a poster girl with no poster
I am 32 flavors and then some

- Ani DiFranco

Nothing exciting here. Not that there is ever real excitement or anything. Spring Break is finally over and the mongols are back to school. Just in time, because I had had about enough family time to last me a while. It is not that I do not love my children and enjoy them as well. It is more that their energy needs a focus - school, camp, activities, etc. I am tired of saying "Can anyone ANYONE tell me just what happened here?" and getting the shrugs and "I dunno"s.

Recently I have been reflecting on the similiarities between molecular behavior and human behavior. I like to think that people have multiple active sites on them that interface with active sites on other people. Different people fit in different configurations. And the conformation of the active sites change with circumstances. With molecules, these are purely physical but with humans these circumstances include emotional ones as well. It would explain why people connect in some circumstances, like a war or some other duress, but when the circumstances change, so do the conformations and the connection falls apart. Of course with humans, there is a temporal aspect as well that is not there with most molecules.

I have a feeling that this makes no sense to anyone else on the planet. When I was younger, one of the first things I figured out was that when someone asks you what you are thinking, it is easiest just to make something up than tell the truth. But still, I harbor this fantasy that I will be able to develop a modelling system that demonstrates this thought. A landscape, of sorts. In the sense of a four dimensional form, not the plant sense

But then when you add energy in, it gets even more interesting. For example, the YM has an excess of Brownian motion. Some of that is due to age but most is just personality. The EM seems to have a fair amount of vibrational energy in that it seems to be more internally directed. Myself, I am big on translational energy. You can vibrate and rotate all you like but lets see some translational movement as well. Unfortunately, some peoples rotational energy is so great that they have no energy left for translational. It seems to me that both the energy states and conformational situations have to mesh for things to work. Of course, I guess they are really causal in a way. Maybe?

So these thoughts are sort of half-cooked. And they are uber thoughts, not detailed ones. I do not want to hear any comments to the effect of "Well what about complex Hilbert space? You haven't described that." Let's be perfectly clear about this - I have a very limited background in this area. Enough to have these thoughts but not a whole lot more. More Godel Escher Bach than Schrodinger's Cat. And I haven't even read GEB for decades. My biggest hope here is that I have not inadverdently plagiarized someone elses thoughts.

Past Few Tales


-

Thursday, October 26

Friday, October 20

Thursday, October 19

Wednesday, October 18


Upcoming raids


moon phases