Newest Tale

Older Tales

Mail the Herder

About the Mongols


Leave Me a Note


Friday, April 7

hosted by DiaryLand.com


Tales from the Steppes


2006-04-12

4:22 p.m.
Wednesday, April 12

Dance without sleeping
Dance till I'm numb
Dance till I think I can overcome

- Melissa Etheridge

I'd like to say that I was out of town for a fun Spring Break trip. That would be a lie. Essentially I have been chained at one desk or another, writing memos, reports, or thesis stuff. I was supposed to go out to do fieldwork today but even that got eaten by a couple of staff reports. So now I get to do it tomorrow. In the rain. Oh joy.

One of the high points of the last week was my starting a yoga class. I have never taken yoga before - basically I do not need to be any more flexible. But I do need to get more exercise and I will take any opportunity, especially if it happens in my building at a convenient time. It was a great class and I did feel more energized afterwards. The instructor is more spiritually oriented than just movement based, which is fine with me as it squares with a lot of my own beliefs. I did have some problems transitioning from the work mindset to the yoga mindset. When she was talking about opening yourself up to help from the universe, all I could think about was whether the universe was going to write my staff reports in a timely fashion.

And then after the class I got to have the fun task of explaining why I am so flexible to my coworkers. I am starting to think I should just make up some absurd lie, about spending my youth in a circus. Perhaps that is easier to understand than collagen disorder.

Damn, it's my brother's birthday and I did not send him a card. Bad me.

Past Few Tales


-

Thursday, October 26

Friday, October 20

Thursday, October 19

Wednesday, October 18


Upcoming raids


moon phases