Newest Tale

Older Tales

Mail the Herder

About the Mongols


Leave Me a Note


Tuesday, April 18

hosted by DiaryLand.com


Tales from the Steppes


2006-04-23

9:50 p.m.
Sunday, April 23

It is Sunday night and I am sitting here in my home office reviewing plans. And I don't want to be. I am starting to have a real motivational issue. I am over-worked, underpaid, and have a whole lot of other shit to do in my life - this job is just not cutting it. Working an occasional weekend; sure comes with the territory of being a professional. But I work nearly every single freakin Sunday night just to keep my head above water.

It doesn't help that the SU hates my job too, so he makes a stink about all the hours I put in. But if I leave I will leave my co-workers to do my work as well as theirs. It will take months for them to hire someone as stupid as me to take this job, yet still meeting their absurdly high criteria for crappy pay. And maybe I shouldn't care about that, but I do. So I will gut it out and hope that my morale improves.

On the bright side, I watched the first part of "Elizabeth I" on HBO while reviewing plans. Jeremy Irons *sigh* The whole production was rather excellent though I am sure some will debate the veracity of some of the details. Not me, couldn't care less. It was entertainment.

At dinner tonight, we were talking about vacation and I suggested that I reserve the same cabin as last year. The one on over 100 acres, side of the mountain, no water or electricity. The EM allowed as how she was not interested, due to the lack of plumbing facilities. The MM complained about the lack of television and the YM thought it would be cool because he could shoot his arrows at the side of the outhouse again. So I asked the MM what his ideal camping experience would be like and he said a hotel, where he could watch tv on the bed, swim in a pool, and have carryout every night. No genes of mine in this child.

I do have one thing to look forward to in the not-too-distant future - I am going away, by myself, for a weekend. The SU is going away to Florida for a week soon and then another week and a half in the South of France. Sure, it is for work both times. But I don't care. Between these two trips, I am taking my laptop and all my materials away for a weekend. I will spend most of the time writing but may get in some fun while I am at it. I am thinking a cabin with a hot tub will do the trick. And I do have a rationale for this - during the time that he is gone, I will get less work done therefore this will just help keep me on track. And I certainly plan on squeaking out as much fun as I possibly can while I am at it. Maybe take the mountain bike, do the Via Ferrata, or some other activity that I don't normally get to indulge in.

Past Few Tales


-

Thursday, October 26

Friday, October 20

Thursday, October 19

Wednesday, October 18


Upcoming raids


moon phases