Newest Tale

Older Tales

Mail the Herder

About the Mongols


Leave Me a Note


The (uneventful) Ides of March

hosted by DiaryLand.com


Tales from the Steppes


2006-03-16

3:32 p.m.
-

Then I see you from a distance
Light years later at fate's insistence
- Mary Chapin Carpenter

The elder mongols are rearranging the food on what serve as pantry shelves. Apparently my visual organization does not suit their father and they are tired of listening to his grumbling. I point out that they could rearange stuff in their own rooms and make a much bigger impact. They have declined the suggestion but at least they are not arguing or whining. Sigh. I really really hope they can go to school tomorrow.

9:22 a.m.
Thursday, March 16

Cold grey dusty day
The morning lake
Drinks up the sky
- Cat Stevens

Two sick children today. The MM threw up much of last night and the EM is still running a fever with a sore throat. I would make a joke about not wanting them to trade viruses except it has already happened. Now the EM is throwing up as well. Fortunately, both the elder mongols are capable of cleaning up after themselves, though they both still let me know about each expulsion. As long as they do not get into a competition about which one is sicker, everything should be ok. Not to sound jaded but I have dealt with lots of viruses and so far, these are nothing serious. Doesn't lessen their misery any but it is not cause for alarm or excitement. I just try to keep everyone comfortable and as happy they can be under the circumstances.

The biggest trick of the morning was getting the YM on the school bus this morning, as his siblings were lying around, watching tv. Fortunately, part of his plan for the day was giving out the rest of the birthday party invites that did not get delivered yesterday. And I had a brand new Hawaiian shirt for him, with matching sunglasses. The shirt looked vaguely camouflage-like but with palm fronds and hidden frogs. And I had found a pair of underwear with frogs all over it, so he had a real theme going today. Sometimes it really is the little things that count.

Even though I have been working from home yesterday and today, I have been diligent about checking both my email and voicemail and returning both. Yesterday I got three phone calls from one guy, about a property that I don't even have a plan in on yet. While I don't disagree with most of his issues with infill development, there was one part of his rant that really bothered me. He kept mentioning the fact that these houses were going for $5 meellion and this was a reason for us to be stricter with developers. I did not tell him that this property would get the same treatment from me regardless of the property value, as there is no point to picking a fight. It is not my job to challenge his world outlook. But this property will get exactly the same treatment from me that it would if it was worth 5% of it's value. I am just hoping that I never have to meet with him, as I find it harder to maintain detached amusement with self-important prigs. There is an overpowering temptation to push a few buttons just to see them explode and spew foolishness.

I don't really have a problem with people having money. I wouldn't mind having more myself but it isn't everything. And it certainly doesn't make you any more special than you are without it.

Past Few Tales


-

Thursday, October 26

Friday, October 20

Thursday, October 19

Wednesday, October 18


Upcoming raids


moon phases