Newest Tale

Older Tales

Mail the Herder

About the Mongols


Leave Me a Note


Monday, March 13

hosted by DiaryLand.com


Tales from the Steppes


2006-03-15

4:28 p.m.
The (uneventful) Ides of March

I am at home today, in theory, working. The reality is I slept for part of the morning, went into work for a bit, and then watched the Goblet of Fire with the EM. She is home sick today and is really feeling pretty wretched. Chances are good that she will have to stay home tomorrow as well and I am not sure what I will do if that is the case.

Oh, I have plenty of work to do - no shortage at all. I am just unenthused. My latest "problem child' is a stinking rich person who wants to cut down a bunch of protected trees to put in a parking area under the forecourt of the famous politico mansion he is rehabbing. Seems he "needs" to dig out an outfall where the conservation easement is. I have explained in great detail why I have said no to his engineer. I mention the fact that he is less than a 1/2 mile downstream from a football coach that recently made the papers for a similar such stupidity. But Mr. Rich Man wants what he wants and now we are have to meet face to face, so he can try to intimidate the lowly bureaucrats in person.

Oh please. I am soooo scared.

This afternoon, I had to cut the YM's hair. It seems he ran into a little girl because his bangs were in his face. So much for his "rock star" defense against getting his hair cut. "If you cut my hair, I won't look like a rock star anymore." So now he has a moderately butchered cut. If he would just consent to going to a barber, he wouldn't have to go through this ugly hair stage. Either that or holding still so I could cut it evenly.

Today we are delivering invitations to the YM's party in a week and a half. 25 6 year olds in my backyard on an inflatable obstacle course. I am not certain that this is such a good idea. My parents aren't either - they declined to attend the festivities. I am hoping that my house will not be trashed when they are all done. And I am really, really hoping that it does not rain.

Past Few Tales


-

Thursday, October 26

Friday, October 20

Thursday, October 19

Wednesday, October 18


Upcoming raids


moon phases