Newest Tale

Older Tales

Mail the Herder

About the Mongols


Leave Me a Note


They say you are a snuff queen, Honey I don't think that's true

hosted by DiaryLand.com


Tales from the Steppes


2004-07-10

11:09 p.m.
How bright the stars, how dark the night, how long have I been sleeping

I have a friend that I have now known for half of my life and I thought I knew him well. But I don't think you can ever truly understand someone until you have seen them with their family. Only then can you know what they have either embraced or rejected. It is almost like your friends are made translucent in the light of their family.

Now I had met this gentleman's family on a number of occasions, but never on their home turf at a family occasion. So I guess I had never really seen the family idiosynchocies played out. And I know I only got to see the tip of the iceberg. With a family as large as his, there are many, many behavioral quirks and personality eccentricities. How fascinating it would have been to observe them for an extended period of time.

I guess that sounds pretty cold. But I really like to know what makes people tick. And it isn't like I do anything with whatever I learn. Generally speaking, I am not a manipulative person. I will admit to occasional button pushing, but I can usually contain the urge. It might seem that studying my friends this way is treating them like insects. And I guess, in a way, I am. But at least I am being honest about it.

Past Few Tales


-

Thursday, October 26

Friday, October 20

Thursday, October 19

Wednesday, October 18


Upcoming raids


moon phases