Newest Tale

Older Tales

Mail the Herder

About the Mongols


Leave Me a Note


Wednesday, June 14

hosted by DiaryLand.com


Tales from the Steppes


2006-06-15

11:53 p.m.
Thursday, June 15

The thorn of the night in your bosom
The spear of the age in your side

- Leonard Cohen

I have had my head stuck in the sand and I need to pull it out.

Earlier this week, I went to visit my dentist for the last of my dental work - the permanent cap on the tooth from HELL. I am kind of proud of myself that I was able to make it through all of this work, given how much I really dislike dentists. But it is done. My bite is corrected, even if my front teeth still stick out. My rear bite is the important part and that is now correct. No more grinding or misfitted molars.

As I was leaving, my dentist's wife, who works at the front desk, asked me how I manage to do it all. How can I juggle all the mongols, my job, the SU, school, all of the rest of my life? At which point, I had to admit that I was not doing such a hot job. Oh sure, I have had minor occurrences to suggest that this was the case. But this week, I had a major wake-up call - a ball I dropped a couple of years has bounced back and hit me rather forcefully. There is no way to deny that I have taken on too much and cannot do it all.

And there are serious repercussions for even trying to do it all.

Past Few Tales


-

Thursday, October 26

Friday, October 20

Thursday, October 19

Wednesday, October 18


Upcoming raids


moon phases