Newest Tale

Older Tales

Mail the Herder

About the Mongols


Leave Me a Note


Wednesday, August 10

hosted by DiaryLand.com


Tales from the Steppes


2005-08-11

9:25 a.m.
Thursday, August 11

They can have their diamonds,
And we'll have our pearls

- Jill Sobule

Today I will put an ad in the small local paper looking for a babysitter. I have gone over my options and that seems like the only one that is realistic. The magnet coordinator told me that the October date for the after-school program was ambitious, so not to plan on that date. I explained why this was such a problem for working parents and got a "we'll do whatever we can to help." A nice sentiment.

The YM has said he is nervous about kindergarten because he does not know anyone there. I am concerned as well, but for different reasons. The YM has never really fit in at any school he has been at and the transitions have ranged from difficult to dreadful. His Teflon coating of cuteness has gotten him by on more than one occasion but public school is a whole new ballgame. I have been saying many positive things about kindergarten because I know it is his attitude that may make the difference.

Last night I asked him if he wanted a haircut before school starts, as his surfer curls are now nearly to his shoulders. He actually said yes!! Seems he would like his hair to look like his older brother's. That is a lovely thought except that the MM has absolutely straight hair. I also know that the YM would not stand still long enough for me to cut that much hair off his head. So we will just try for a trim and I will have to see what other special kindergarten things I can come up with. Perhaps a brand-new kindergarten backpack and a kindergarten Hawaiian shirt.

I got email from my mom last night, saying that the doctor has finally decided it might be pancreatic cancer. My father has continued his weight loss and weakening without any sign of a cause. I have offered to drive him to Hopkins but each time I am told they would rather stay with this doctor and continue to wait weeks between appointments and tests. I will keep trying to convince them to get him better treatment but I cannot force them to meet this head on. There is not a chance that I can have them declared incompetant, as they are clearly not. Perhaps they believe that if they close their eyes, this will go away.

Past Few Tales


-

Thursday, October 26

Friday, October 20

Thursday, October 19

Wednesday, October 18


Upcoming raids


moon phases