Newest Tale

Older Tales

Mail the Herder

About the Mongols


Leave Me a Note


Tuesday, August 9

hosted by DiaryLand.com


Tales from the Steppes


2005-08-10

11:24 a.m.
Wednesday, August 10

Ah honey when I knocked on your door,
Ooh,I gave you my key

- a rather anemic version from Ella Enchanted. Bleah!

Last night was the Great Big Sea concert and I did not go. I have been to see them more times than I can count and the concerts are always fabulous, so I am not sure what happened to me as far this time. Maybe it was that buying tickets for everyone seemed a bit much and I could not justify going by myself.

Whatever my problem was, it was a good thing.

About 9:30pm, I got the first call, telling me the EM had thrown up, over on the Eastern Shore, where she went on an overnight field trip. So I was not surprised an hour and a half later when I got the call saying she threw up again, come get her. Definitely a bummer because she had been looking forward to this beach trip all summer, as well as the suckage of getting sick around your friends.

I would like to report that there was a vigorous debate about which one of us was going to drive over and back. But that would be a lie. Heh. I had to pull over and nap at some point, I was so trashed, and did not get home until after 5am.

Of course, to do this I drank a coffee-like beverage, which is still making me twitch. So I got home and could not sleep.

What do I do when I cannot sleep? Check my email, of course!

To find out that the afterschool program at the EM's new school will not start until October.

I do believe this has pushed me completely over the edge. What the fuck am I supposed to do with this? The school bus is supposed to drop her off 1 1/2 miles away, across a major pedestrian killer road at 3:30. I have been told that the school bus route cannot be changed to drop her on this side of the road. She is game to walk it but that is SO not going to happen. Not only is she 10 but would be easily voted "Most Likely to be Star in her own True Crime Show" - she just sort of radiates vulnerable spaciness.

And I can SO leave work every day at 3pm for a month. Yeah, right! Since I have to drop her at the bus stop at 7 am everyday, I cannot get into work early enough to be able to do that. As well as having meetings to go to that cannot always be arranged around moi.

I put an ad up last week, looking for a babysitter for the boys because I do not believe the YM will be up for staying at a school program. Not a single response yet.

Two weeks until school starts and I will be gone for one of them. I guess I should cancel my vacation. But then we can watch my head explode. Cheap fun, but not productive. Oh yeah, and the day after I get back, the SU flys out of country and gets back the night before school starts. So he will not be around to help with things like the school system so helpfully scheduling kindergarten and middle school orientation at the same time.

I really hope I am overreacting and that things seem less painful after I have had more sleep. But for now, I have to go into work, as I do not have enough leave to just stay home a second day this week. Fortunately, the EM has not thrown up since I picked her up.

Past Few Tales


-

Thursday, October 26

Friday, October 20

Thursday, October 19

Wednesday, October 18


Upcoming raids


moon phases