Newest Tale

Older Tales

Mail the Herder

About the Mongols


Leave Me a Note


sem(id)iotics

hosted by DiaryLand.com


Tales from the Steppes


2004-02-25

12:18 p.m.
A Mongol Roundup

EM did make it home from school successfully on Friday and all of the other connections got made as well. The person who was giving her a ride to ballet got her there 5 minutes late, so she had to sit and watch for the whole class. Still, a fairly minor glitch.

EM did call to tell me that she had made it home, but that two guys were following her. Upon further questioning, it became apparent that these two teenagers were just walking the same way as her. They did not approach her, although she said they were talking about her as being a "girly-girl." She reacted the proper way by moving along quickly to add some distance. No big deal, but definitely an opportunity to go over the rules of behavior again.

When she first called and told me about the two guys wearing black, following her, I have to admit that my heart did jump a bit. I still clearly remember the first time I realized that someone was paying inapropriate attention to me and the feeling of imminent danger if I did not behave appropriately. EM has a good (though dramatic) head on her shoulders and will hopefully learn to sense these things. I am flattered that she told me, as I never would have shared that with my mother for fear that she would yank any freedoms I had. Time to just take a deep breath, educate her on warning signs/situations, and convince her that having her brother around is actually a good thing. Fat chance on the last one, but I can try.

The Middle Mongol is having a bit of a weight issue. At the age of 7, he weighs as much as his sister. And while, yes, he is tall, he ain't that tall. I have tried to explain about energy in and energy out and the consequences of an imbalance. Not in those words, but the concept. I have tried to be a good role model and have suceeded where the other two are concerned, but MM seems to think that it is a good idea to eat a lot. Most meals he eats more than I do, but is less active. I have mostly let it go, as I don't want this to become an emotional issue with him, but I think I need to do something before it gets too far. He is starting to get teased at school and I know it has to hurt.

The only idea I have been able to come up with is to make it one of his jobs to help me plan balanced meals and do the shopping for them. Maybe if he learns about nutrition, his eating and exercise habits will improve. MM has a stubborn streak about a mile wide (not certain where that came from) and if I try to force these changes on him, he will get all muley on me and I will get nowhere. In fact, he will subvert anything I try and do.

On a happy note, for the first time ever he announced that he actually wanted to read a specific book. I know that MM is only in the first grade. But there are books in every single room of our house - how could he not want to read? I have made it a policy that I will buy the kids pretty much any book they want. OK, I don't like to spend money on books that are tied to tv shows, but even on that I have made an exception to encourage him to read. I have to buy books in lieu of going to the library because we have so many books the library books get lost on the shelves and then there are huge fines. So I'd rather just pay the money and get the book. So MM started reading the first Harry Potter book last night. Whoohoo!

And the YM? Well, he's just fine. this morning he announced that he didn't have to listen to me because I am not an adult. Apparently he is having problems reconciling the fact that both his father and I are adults. He has decided that I am a teenager instead. Not something I am going to relate to the SU.

Griffin has also decided that eating Cocoa Kripsies will turn you brown. Reasonable enough. Very cool that he thought this was a good thing, as he would then look like his friend Cecile. I wonder if this means he will start eating purple foods so that he will turn his favorite color? A possible justification for egplant? More likely vile peeps in his case.

Past Few Tales


-

Thursday, October 26

Friday, October 20

Thursday, October 19

Wednesday, October 18


Upcoming raids


moon phases