Newest Tale

Older Tales

Mail the Herder

About the Mongols


Leave Me a Note


Blah blah blah

hosted by DiaryLand.com


Tales from the Steppes


2003-12-31

10:09 a.m.
New year's

Aah, New Year's Eve. One of my least favorite holiday's of the year. For me, it does not really seem like the beginning of anything. It seems completely arbitrary and unrelated to anything personal or natural. The earth thinks the new year is in the spring. If nature is saying one thing, why are we as a culture arguing with it?

The entire marketing blitz related to this holiday is particularly unsavoury. Why do I need a new body? I'm ok with my current one, thank you. And if I was going to get a new one, chances are really good I wouldn't be finding it in a health club or pill. Bodies come from brains, not Bally's.

I celebrate New Year's Eve every year by going to party I don't enjoy. The party is full of people that I do not care to talk to for more than, oh, 5 minutes apiece. Some of them less than that. I am sure they are very nice people and all that; that is not the issue. They have been friends with the Spousal Unit for about 30 years and so I feel like a perpetual outsider. Of course, a number of them make certain to remind me of this. Including the Spousal Unit's ex-wife. Yes, it is the one time of the year that I have to interact with her. I consider it my yearly present to her to allow her to be wittier, more sophisticated, and smarter than me. It seems to mean rather a lot to her and costs me nothing, so I do it with a smile on my face. As long as she does not drink any alcohol, I am perfectly willing to let her lord anything she wants over me. Knew him when he had hair? Have a cigar. Woohoo. I am not certain just how to react to these things, so I do what I do in all of these cases. Smile and nod, nod and smile.

New Year's Eve also marks my wedding anniversary, this being the 11th. This year I received a game for my new Playstation 2. Lest any of you think that this is somehow not an appropriate (or dare I even say romantic)gift, I will point out that I am the woman who has received a new hard drive for my computer as a Valentine's Day present. And it is a game that I really wanted. But truthfully, I would have preferred to just get flowers and leave it at that.

Well, to hell with New Year's Eve. I would prefer to think about upcoming happy events. Like Ice Castles. I am very excited that I might get to see all of my friends at one time. Seeing them individually is cool, but there is a certain synergy that occurs as in groups. I am especially jazzed because my children will not be with me, so I won't have to deal with them while trying to be with my friends. The last time we were all in one place was at Squotter's for an Easter. Unfortunately, YM was less than a month old and seemed to be permanently attached to my chest. Definitely put a crimp in my weekend. But I am hoping that all can make their arrangements for thae last weekend in January and the cry of "Thunderblooood!" will be heard in the hall and there will be many "Hooray for our gang"s heard and propellers hoisted.

Past Few Tales


-

Thursday, October 26

Friday, October 20

Thursday, October 19

Wednesday, October 18


Upcoming raids


moon phases