Newest Tale

Older Tales

Mail the Herder

About the Mongols


Leave Me a Note


Thursday, July 13

hosted by DiaryLand.com


Tales from the Steppes


2006-07-17

9:40 a.m.
Monday, July 17

Run me straight into the ground
Drowning deep inside your water
Drown in love and memories

- OAR

I am tired and sore today but it was certainly worth it. Yesterday was the Muddy Buddy in Richmond. No, I had not adequately trained for it so I certainly deserve every sore muscle I have. Which is a good thing in some ways, as it is a visceral reminder that I really, really need to exercise every single day. Both to maintain my body as well as relieve stress. Which is not to imply that I did not have fun doing the race - I did. The obstacles in between the legs of the race were fun and I met some cool people while doing the running portions.

Today I will start dealing with the aftermath of the race on my body. I have been seeing a chiropracter for several weeks and he has been working on evening out my legs and hips. Because of the various surgeries and injuries to my right knee, my body is unbalanced and I use my legs unevenly. As a consequence, my muscles are developed differently, with my right hip tilted forward and my feet shaped differently. Probably nothing that anyone else would ever notice but it makes a difference when running or biking. I tend to roll out on my right foot and in on the left foot. So, anyway, the chiropracter has been blocking my hips and helping to retrain my muscles so I can be realigned. Still a work in process though. Better than the garbage I usually hear from the orthopaeds.

The rest of the weekend was quite lovely as well. It was good to not be responsible for anyone else for about 24 hours. I slept deeper on Saturday night than I can remember for a long time. And then on the way home, I got a call from one of my favorite people, wanting to come for a visit. What could be better?

Perhaps I will upload a post race photo tomorrow. At least this time I remembered to keep my sunglasses on for the crawl through the mudpit, though I still managed to get mud even in my ears.

Past Few Tales


-

Thursday, October 26

Friday, October 20

Thursday, October 19

Wednesday, October 18


Upcoming raids


moon phases