Newest Tale

Older Tales

Mail the Herder

About the Mongols


Leave Me a Note


Tuesday, May 2

hosted by DiaryLand.com


Tales from the Steppes


2006-05-03

11:44 a.m.
Wednesday, May 3

I am really iritated today. No other way to put it. As anyone who has ever camped next to me knows, when I am away, I call the mongols every single freackin' night. No matter what I am doing, I call home at least once a day. When I have had a race in an area with no cell coverage, the call after the race might wait until the next morning when I am on my way home. Chances are good that I made a call in the morning before the race.

But the SU has hardly called the mongols at all while he has been gone. Which increases their anxiety and questions. They want to say goodnight to their father and he does not answer his cell phone. Totally pisses me off.

Not that we have had a bad time while he has been gone. The biggest problem is that I really have needed to work at least 8 hour days and cannot when I do not have childcare lined up and have to handle all teh extracurricular activities as well. I would certainly have my life arranged differently if the single herder gig was a full-time occurrence. But the mongols have been good and reasonably helpful. Fighting and whininess have been at a minimum; they have even done some cleaning. What more can I ask for?

But now the SU has decreed that he is taking a week off soon. I can no longer take a week off for my thesis because I handled the majority of the time the mongols were sick and have not been able to work enough while he has been gone. And I am behind. I realize I am being unreasonable and this is only one side of the story. I am still pissed.

So I will just sit here and grind my teeth.

Past Few Tales


-

Thursday, October 26

Friday, October 20

Thursday, October 19

Wednesday, October 18


Upcoming raids


moon phases