Newest Tale

Older Tales

Mail the Herder

About the Mongols


Leave Me a Note


Thursday, December 22

hosted by DiaryLand.com


Tales from the Steppes


2005-12-27

10:41 a.m.
Tuesday, December 27

So this is Christmas
And what have you done

- John Lennon

The holidays were pretty good at our house. The Mongols were all pleased by their presents, which I consider to be a major coup. Usually at least one mongol likes what another mongol received better than their own pile o'presents. This year they all got at least one thing they were really into and many of the rest of the presents are still sitting by the tree.

My parents joined us for the afternoon and that was really cool. Every other year, we have had to drive if we wanted to see them so this was a lovely change. Telling the mongols that they have to leave their new stuff to go to their grandparents' house was always one of the lowlights of the day. This worked out better for everyone because the children were less cranky and we all had more fun. I think my father's spirits were also raised because it was a change of scenery at least.

Yesterday we went to my in-laws house in Delaware and that didn't suck either. The mongols are all old enough now that they leave the expensive glass dustcatchers alone and do not require constant parental intervention. Not saying I don't like little kids or anything but I have served my time and am now enjoying having kids old enough to be trusted to not pick up things that break. Mostly. We had a nice visit and an uneventful trip back.

Really, the holidays were quite boring. That's ok with me.

The funniest moment for me involved one of the SU's presents to me. Now the SU had put a mattress warmer on his list of desired items - sort of like an electric blanket for your mattress. It is true that our Tempurpedic mattress is like a stale matzoh wafer when it is cold. It softens with body heat after you lay on it for a short while. I was not going to get him one of these because I am dubious about the whole "lying on electrical wires" thing. It is partly a safety issue but prinmarily a comfort one. I do not want to lie on a grid of wires, no matter how small they are. I would rather shiver for 30 seconds each night than bother with this sort of thing. I guess it is a good thing I did not get the SU one, because he got me one. I was good and thanked him, etc. But then he asked me last night if it was a lame present, I had to say "No, no, of course not." What else could I say? I haven't put it on the bed though and do not plan on. With my luck, I will get home from work to find that he has so kindly done it for me. While I think it is sweet that he does not want me to be cold in bed at night, this really makes me laugh.

Last night also marked the first night of what I hope to make a new routine. I have a race coming up in February that I need to get in shape for because I have not been exercising hardly at all this fall/winter. So I have asked the MM to act as my training partner, to make sure I get out everyday. I have a number of motives with this plan. This will ensure that the MM gets some exercise each day and more importantly develops the habit of getting out and working at something. The SU was supposed to be doing something similar but was never able to make it a priority. It also allows me to make my daily workouts a little more important - usually they are the first thing to get cut when we get busy. Yes, I know, I am using my child. But only for good intentions. There already has been an unintended side effect - the SU wants to come along with us tonight.

Last night was just a very brisk 20 minute walk, including a steep hill. The MM definitely had to work to keep up with me, even breaking into a trot sometimes. He never grew so winded that he had to stop though and that was part of the plan. His lungs need to get used to working in the relatively cold air before running is a good idea. I have no illusions that this is enough exercise for me. But if it gets him moving in a meaningful way, I will consider it worthwhile.

Past Few Tales


-

Thursday, October 26

Friday, October 20

Thursday, October 19

Wednesday, October 18


Upcoming raids


moon phases