Newest Tale

Older Tales

Mail the Herder

About the Mongols


Leave Me a Note


Big bottom, big bottom, Talk about bum cakes, my girl's got'em

hosted by DiaryLand.com


Tales from the Steppes


2005-04-26

2:40 a.m.
I'm so ronery. So ronery. So ronery and sadry arone.

The YM had kindergarten orientation this morning. He was so stressed that he threw up around 4am this morning. He is not really into "change" all that much, so this is much more difficult than I would have suspected. He dressed for the occasion in one of his favorite Hawaiian shirts, a pair of shorts, and green rubber boots. It was a tad chilly for the shorts but he would not be dissuaded from wearing them. His way of acknowledging the temperature was to top off the ensemble with a coat, thus adding to the overall strangeness. I tried to tame his hair but even that was a bit of a failure. We were actually on time but then he would not go in to the classroom to listen to the story while I filled out papers and did the actual enrolling. I finally had to bribe him with a mint to get him to go in. I know this is poor parenting but sometimes it is necessary to accomplish the greater goal. I guess he had an ok time - he did not seem overally traumatized. The YM did get some looks from other kids at snacktime, after the children had rejoined us. Apparently not everyone's pretzels sing arias before being eaten. They must have gotten defective snacks.

The EM brought home her report card today and there was much rejoicing. Ok, it was supposed to come home on Friday, like her brother but she apparently took it out on the bus and then left it there but the important thing is that she found it today. At least the actual grade portion. As far as the teacher's comments go, that will remain a mystery. To recap, this is the child whose last report card was so abysmal that I had to go to some sort of meeting where it was suggested that she needed drugs but the only thing that came out of it was that her teachers were going to check her assignment book. She managed to bring up every single grade and made numerous As and Bs. The only grade that was even a little iffy was a C in speaking. Even her work study grades were really good. I am sooooo proud of her for really making an effort and paying attention in class, instead of reading a book in her desk. She even got an A in math. How cool is that? Now all we have to do is get the damn science fair project finished by Thursday and she will be pretty set. I really hope her teachers acknowledged her progress verbally to her because I know that would mean a lot as well as provide incentive to improve even more.

Ugh, I thought I was going to write more but I am really just too tired. Maybe tomorrow.

Past Few Tales


-

Thursday, October 26

Friday, October 20

Thursday, October 19

Wednesday, October 18


Upcoming raids


moon phases