Newest Tale

Older Tales

Mail the Herder

About the Mongols


Leave Me a Note


Monday, October 24

hosted by DiaryLand.com


Tales from the Steppes


2005-10-26

2:22 p.m.
-

Many many thanks to genvieve for providing what might be the biggest laugh of the week. At first, I did want to say "Oh, no, that is soo not true" but then I realized that I have never changed a tire, often do not put up my own tent, though I certainly know how to (in theory), and have never made a meatloaf, much less eaten any as a non-forced fed adult. However, I do (usually) notice it if I put my pants on backwards. No zipper wedgies for me, thank you!

INTP: The Egghead

The typical INTP is a logical, abstract thinker whose intellect is ideally suited to understanding pure mathematics, linguistics, formal logic theory, and other pursuits unsuited to making a real living. The INTP can often understannd even the most subtle nuances of lattice quantum chromodynamics, but cannot perform more concrete tasks such as dressing himself, operating a motor vehicle, or opening a door. An INTP may be able to tell you how to construct a nuclear reactor from a coconut and two pieces of string, but may be completely incapable of fixing a hole in a boat.

The INTP is really only suited to two careers: college professor and game show contestant. Of these career choices, only one offers the financial rewards which allows him to suport himself; for that reason, INTPs often take the other path, and become tenured academics.

RECREATION: Surprisingly, INTPs are often the hit of the party--not for their sometimes annoying habit of turning every discussion into a debate about semantics nor for their fascinating stories about Pierre de Fermat's habit of writing things in the margins of his books, but for the fact that they often show up with their pants on backwards and that if you put a Post-It note reading "Kick Me" on an INTP's back, he won't notice it no matter how many people kick him. That kind of entertainment never gets old.

COMPATIBILITY: INTPs make ideal companions to INTJs, as neither of them notices they're in a relationship.

Famous INTPs include Pierre de Fermat.

10:21 a.m.
Wednesday, October 26

The smell of burning leather
As we hold each other tight

- The Tubes

Happiness is my new 21" flat screen monitor here at work!

Disco Dean, the consultant that weaseled his way into my office, has still not adequately revised his plans for tomorrow's Planning Board. Normally, everyone is supposed to have signed off on them before the date is even set. But the decision was made weeks ago (by other people) to go forward with this because the issues are minor. But yet he cannot seem to get things right. And it leaves me in a bad position. It was bad enough that I had to make up my staff report on the fly without having this resolved. If I do not have a correct plan by noon, I am calling the actual applicant that is paying for this service. This is particularly tricky because the neighbors have hired a lawyer. And I have to say the thought of standing in front of the Planning Board and saying "Well, these issues are not resolved but we want you to approve it anyway" makes me quite unhappy and more than a bit stressed. I guess I can say "The applicant has yet to change his plans to reflect these requirements and the only reason you are hearing this is because someone made the decision to go forward without my sign off because only a moron could not make the changes in time" but that would be tacky. Not to mention career limiting. Instead, I will have to scramble and hope that the changes get made and the plan shows up with enough time for me to approve it and understand it. The right thing to do here would be to remove Disco Dean from the agenda but it was the Director who made the decision to go ahead and send out notices on this plan. So forward into the fire I go.

Past Few Tales


-

Thursday, October 26

Friday, October 20

Thursday, October 19

Wednesday, October 18


Upcoming raids


moon phases