Newest Tale

Older Tales

Mail the Herder

About the Mongols


Leave Me a Note


Wednesday, October 11

hosted by DiaryLand.com


Tales from the Steppes


2006-10-16

11:50 p.m.
-

I checked my work email from home a few minutes ago because 7am is just not soon enough to read my messages. There was a broadcast email from the director nattering on about all sorts of things. The most interesting part of the email was her closing. "Rock on". Not "Sincerely", "Cordially", "Respectfully" or even "Thanks for reading your mail". No. "Rock on".

Hrrrm.

At least my face got a good workout with that one, as it went through the motions of cringing, confusion, and disbelief. Repeat. Ok, there was a laugh and a smile in there too.

I wonder what would happen if I ended a staff report or a presentation that way.

Of course, it works best if you are doing the buddy Jesus thing to go with it.

As well as being better than bowling. But then, what isn't?

4:27 p.m.
Monday, October 16

My supervisor has proposed an innovative solution to combat stress in the office - bowling. Yes, that's right, we are going to bowl our troubles away. I am sure that will get my staff reports written and plans reviewed. Hey, I have a thought! What if my supervisor stood up to the developers and said "We will get your work done as fast as we can, there are only 5 of us. Stop calling the division chief! It will not make things get done any faster" But that would take a backbone.

I am sooooo not going bowling.

It's nothing personal.

There are only 24 hours in a day.

Life is short.

I don't play baseball either.

And I have no socks on today, so I can't rent shoes.

And now, from the Land of Enlightenment, I give you the Town of Manassas. All hail bigotry.

Past Few Tales


-

Thursday, October 26

Friday, October 20

Thursday, October 19

Wednesday, October 18


Upcoming raids


moon phases