Newest Tale

Older Tales

Mail the Herder

About the Mongols


Leave Me a Note


Monday, October 9

hosted by DiaryLand.com


Tales from the Steppes


2006-10-11

2:53 p.m.
Wednesday, October 11

Now you citizens of Boston
don't you think it's a scandal
How the skinhead stole the train
What's the big fuckin' deal,
he'll work for beer
Let skinhead drive that fuckin' train.

- Dropkick Murphys

Perhaps that is a bit gratuitous but sometimes I just get in a "Skinhead on the MBTA" kind of mood.

I have still not unloaded my car from Crusades. Some people buy air fresheners for their car - my little green tree looks like a pile of armor. Mmmmmm, love that smell!

Ok, so that's not why my car is not unloaded yet. More that I got home Sunday and had to deal with the mongols and SU. By the time I kicked a soccer ball around in the park for an hour or so, made dinner, and did laundry, I was so tired I just crashed. After supervising homework and working with the YM on his reading.

Monday was an appointment with the optometrist for the EM to learn to put in contact lenses. She kept losing or breaking her glasses so that her vision went uncorrected more often than it was corrected. We tried making her wear the glasses all the time, making her help pay for them, only wearing them for school, other consequences for breakage. No luck. Finally, I just said screw it. Why should I care how her vision is corrected? Well, ok, she is just now old enough to be responsible enough to wear contacts. So it is not completely caving. So far it seems to be going ok. It takes her longer in the morning to get them in but that is just a practice thing. I have explained that I have never worn contacts, so I can be of no assistance. This is something she will have to do completely on her own.

After the appointment, it was time for some mother-daughter shopping fun. She wanted a cake from Cakelove, so I let her pick out one. Then it was on to Anne Taylor to find pants that are actually cut for someone with curves(!) Wow, what a concept. Of course, they only come in one color but I still have hope.

On a tangent (that is probably far more interesting than my recital of the garbage that is my life), where did this trend of naming items of clothing come from? Why do my pants have to be "Julie"s and my bra an "Emma"? Is it more user-friendly? It just seems to be a strange anthropomorphism. Perhaps if the names meant something, I would understand. Perhaps if my pants were called "J-Lo"s or "Beyonce"s to designate that these are for people that are curvy (ie. have big buttes), then I would get it. And why is it pants and bras that get names? My shirts don't have names nor does my underwear, last I checked.

Maybe I am the one with the issue. After all, I have not named any of my cars. Ok, I will admit to calling the white minivan the "Crapmobile", but I consider that a descriptor, not a real name. The constant naming of things makes me feel like I am living in a Pee Wee Herman or Bob the Builder kind of universe.

I can tell I have really had way too much caffeine today because the thought of what Bob the Builder would name my clothing has me completely cracked up. Oh, never mind. You have to have sat through a lot of kids tv shows to find that funny.

Past Few Tales


-

Thursday, October 26

Friday, October 20

Thursday, October 19

Wednesday, October 18


Upcoming raids


moon phases