Newest Tale

Older Tales

Mail the Herder

About the Mongols


Leave Me a Note


Tuesday, September 19

hosted by DiaryLand.com


Tales from the Steppes


2006-09-21

5:22 p.m.
Thursday, September 21

The YM got his cast off today. Finally. His teacher had been complaining to me because it smelled bad, it had gotten itchy and he had been picking at it. The school nurse called because the teacher had complained to her. I guess the trip to the beach added to the aroma. While I had gotten him a cast cover for it, a bit of water and sand still got in.

The event itself was very traumatic. This time, I sent a bandanna to cover his eyes and my MP3 player to drowned out the sound. As well as a lollipop for the mouth, just to make things better. Apparently, my efforts were for naught - there was still a lot of noise out of the YM.

But I was not there to hear it, yet again. It just worked out that the first available appointment was on a Thursday and I had an item at the Planning Board today and fieldwork afterwards. So the SU had to handle the whole thing. Given that I did the ER trip, took a day off to take him to various doctors, and then the whole hospital experience, I feel like this was reasonably fair. And if I could have done it, I would have.

It was lucky that he even got the cast off today. Last night, the orthopaed's office called to say he needed a new referral for this visit. Oh wait, let me pull one out of my ass. It is fine to need a new referral. But to assume people can make all of the arrangements in less than 24 hours is a bit much.

The next two weeks will be realativelty slow ones for him. No bike riding. No skateboarding. No monkey bars. We will see if he does something I was not explicit about restricting him from. Did I say no bungee jumping from trees?

Past Few Tales


-

Thursday, October 26

Friday, October 20

Thursday, October 19

Wednesday, October 18


Upcoming raids


moon phases