Newest Tale

Older Tales

Mail the Herder

About the Mongols


Leave Me a Note


Tuesday, August 29

hosted by DiaryLand.com


Tales from the Steppes


2006-08-30

11:12 a.m.
Wednesday, August 30

We're really not so clever as we seem to think we are
We've always got our troubles so we solve them in the bar

- Julian Lennon


Last night's soccer practice was interesting. I came away from it with a better appreciation for the YM's listening skills. Next time, I will have a whistle, as there are several young men that seem to be incapable of paying attention. And I don't like to yell.

I had a bunch of games planned for the boys and they worked out reasonably well. Since I had no idea whether any of them had played soccer before or what their skill level was, it was kind of a crap shoot. The different games served as great diagnostic tools for me. Unfortunately, some of the parents thought the kids were "playing" too much. After practice, I talked to the parents briefly and it was suggested that we do more "drills" and I make the kids run more. I guess they want me to send them out to do laps. Hrrrm. Think I'll keep with my original plan.

Unfortunately, one of the people that wants more drills is my assistant coach. And he is running practice for me next week because the SU's surgery is on Tuesday. Perhaps I will send him an email with some thoughts on what I want to see at practice. I am not trying to be a control freak or anything - I just have a plan.

I picked up our uniforms last night. White shirts, white socks. At least the shorts are black. White ... what a good idea! They gave me a spiffy black coaches shirt and a game ball as well. All I need now is a whistle.

And perhaps a cattle prod, to get my team's attention.

Past Few Tales


-

Thursday, October 26

Friday, October 20

Thursday, October 19

Wednesday, October 18


Upcoming raids


moon phases