Newest Tale

Older Tales

Mail the Herder

About the Mongols


Leave Me a Note


Tuesday, August 1

hosted by DiaryLand.com


Tales from the Steppes


2006-08-02

12:34 a.m.
Wednesday, August 2

They're laboratory mice
Their genes have been spliced
They're dinky
They're Pinky and the Brain, Brain, Brain, Brain,
Brain, Brain, Brain, Brain, Brain

No, I am not listening to it right now, but this theme song is caught in my brain. On our way home from getting the YM's cast on, we stopped at Borders and the boys picked out the Pinky and the Brain boxed set. We were supposed to be going to the Rehoboth Beach on Monday so I feel this was a poor substitute for the MM, who was blameless. Relatively speaking. So, nearly 8 hours of Pinky and the Brain. They're Pinky and the Brain. One is a genius, the other insane. Aaaaaaaaargggggghhhh!!

I was telling a friend what the male mongols had picked and she opined that at least it wasn't Ren and Stimpy they were watching. Oh ooops, was I not supposed to let my children watch Ren and Stimpy? It is a little late for that now. Actually, one of their favorite books when they were younger was the Ren and Stimpy book with all of the textures. I do not remember what it was called, maybe Pat the Stimpy?, but it was a great takeoff on Pat the Bunny. Fortunately, none of the mongols has ever eaten real kitty litter, much less enjoyed the texture of it. That I know of, at least.

So I did something really stupid today. Even for me, this was dumb. The YM had signed up to play soccer this fall and the league has been forming teams for the 1st graders. And they did not have a coach for his team. So the emails had been sent out, begging and pleading for a coach. No luck. Finally, I could not stand it and volunteered because the guilt got to be too much for me. And I have oh so much free time to do this in. Tattoo "sucker" across my forehead. It appears I am getting out of the long drive for ballet classes several times a week and may now have enough time to actually write. And what do I do? I volunteer. Save me from my over committed self! Later this fall, I am sure I will be whining about running around like crazy, trying to get everything done. Never enough time, never enough time. And whose fault is it? Mine. I am the only one to blame for my time issues.

Ok, that is not completely true. I might be able to spread the blame a little.

All that being said, I think this is going to be a lot of fun. I love to play soccer and this gives me a great excuse to get out and play, albeit with a bunch of 6 year old boys. The YM likes to play as well and for a little dude, he totally rocks. Hopefully his cast will be off by the time the season starts.

There is also a part of me that completely laughs at soccer dads. At the beginning of the season, I would show up with the MM for his first practice. And the dads would be standing around, posing, trying to look athletic, talking about soccer. I used to try to join in on the yacking, as I am reasonably knowledgeable and somewhat interested. But then I realized that I don't have a penis and therefore am completely incompetent when it comes to this sport. Or at least, so it would seem, given the reactions I got. I wonder what will happen when I am the head coach. Will I be included in the testo-fun or will it go one without me, while I am attempting to instill some form of order.

Or maybe it will just go away. One can always hope.

Past Few Tales


-

Thursday, October 26

Friday, October 20

Thursday, October 19

Wednesday, October 18


Upcoming raids


moon phases