Newest Tale

Older Tales

Mail the Herder

About the Mongols


Leave Me a Note


Thursday, July 6

hosted by DiaryLand.com


Tales from the Steppes


2006-07-07

1:39 p.m.
Friday, July 7

This weekend promises to be incredibly hectic but hopefully in a good way. We are all attending Novice Tourney and I am camping Saturday night with whichever Mongols choose to stay. So this means I have to have stuff lined up for everyone for both a daytrip and an overnight for (hopefully hopefully hopefully) the YM and MM. This by itself is enough to keep me busy for the entire night.

But of course, nothing is ever so simple. Tonight is the swim team photo and potluck dinner. I am supposed to have made a main dish. It would be completely foolish to ask if I have done so yet. We went to Spamalot last night and when we got home, I just felt like going to bed instead of staying up and cooking. Now I have a problem, but at least it is one easily solved by a small application of money.

Added to this chaos is a slightly autistic child that I agreed to watch for a friend of mine. The MM was James's desk buddy and kept him organized and helped him with schoolwork. This had the dual purpose of helping James sort of keep up and harnassing the awesome power of the MM's brain. But at the pool he requires more watching than the YM, as he does unexpected things.

And then there is the SU. Earlier this week, the SU told me that he was going to try to come up to Pennsic for a tourney and stay over one night. He had had such a good time at Monday night practice that he has become inspired. Now he has decided that he is going to fight in said tourney. Which is great but it means he needs to get his paperwork dealt with and, if necessary, reauthorize. This weekend. Tomorrow morning, to be precise. So I may, or may not, have to drive out to his used-to-be-a-squire-but-I-am-not-sure-how-they-left-it's apartment, 45 minutes away, to pick up his gauntlets.

Tonight.

That would be after swim team, after getting camping stuff together, after going out and buying anything needed, like food as I am not attempting the feast with the younger mongols, but probably before making garb for the EM. Can you say bogdress?

On my way out the door to work this morning, the SU asked me if I needed him home by any particular time tonight, did we have plans. Instead of pointing out to him all that had to be done, because, of course, it is all my stuff to do, I was an idiot and said that we had no plans. I really hope he is not planning on going out for a beer with his coworkers.

Oh, now this is just great. I called home to find out whether the EM is swimming in the swim meet tomorrow morning. Only to find out that the YM had apparently climbed up her bookshelf to get some money off an upper shelf. You can see this coming, can't you? The bookshelf fell over, fortunately the YM was unhurt, trashing the EM's bedroom. Lotion and nail polish remover soaked into her bed. Books everywhere. Porcelein ballet dancers broken. Grrrrrrrr. Guess which mongol will not be camping tomorrow night?

And now the MM says he needs a new pair of swords for the tournament tomorrow. At least that task I can hand over to the SU.

Past Few Tales


-

Thursday, October 26

Friday, October 20

Thursday, October 19

Wednesday, October 18


Upcoming raids


moon phases