Newest Tale

Older Tales

Mail the Herder

About the Mongols


Leave Me a Note


Saturday, July 1

hosted by DiaryLand.com


Tales from the Steppes


2006-07-06

11:07 a.m.
Thursday, July 6

Acting steady always ready to defend your fears
What's the matter with the truth, did I offend your ears

- Aimee Mann

The Fourth of July is one of my favorite holidays, I guess because it seems to be an actual celebration. Not mostly an excuse for a consumeristic orgy. I have been lucky to mostly live in places where there was a sense of civic pride and the celebrations were low key but spirited. When I was growing up in Fairfax, there was always the parade and fireworks. Since we lived so close to and spent so much time in the central library, my sister and I always helped organize the library's parade entry. I can remember dressing up as some character out of a children's book and roller skating along the parade route. Don't ask me how those two things were connected. I am sure that I dressed up as Pippi Longstocking at least once over the course of the years.

The small community in Baltimore we lived in had probably the most truly patriotic Fourth. It was a small historic neighborhood of perhaps 125 houses that sprung up around a mill. The parade was completely homegrown, with a new theme each year. Families would interpret the theme however they wanted and dress up to walk in it. No firetrucks, no bands, no politicians. And then a gathering on the church lawn to listen to the Declaration of Independence being read by a man dressed as Uncle Sam. The day ended with a potluck dinner in the central intersection.

Our neighborhood in Williamsville, NY was a bit louder. One of our neighbors set up a sound system and woke everyone up with loud Sousa marches and other patriotic music. The parades were rotated around the various villages, so that all of the fire companies could participate in each other's parades. But since another one of the neighbors was the captain of the volunteer fire company, he had the road closed off and brought a truck over for the kids to play on.

Even when we lived in the Kentlands, there was always a community parade and a fun festival. It never felt quite the same, no matter how much red, white, and blue people wore but at least it was something. Like the Kentlands itself, it seemed a bit forced and contrived.

Our current town has a bike parade every Fourth, starting right at our front door. There is one antique fire truck at the front and hordes and hordes of children with their bikes decorated. And strollers, scooters, wagons, and dogs, as well. The parade goes around 4 or 5 blocks and comes back to our street for popsicles and cold water, as well as prizes. The fire truck stays for a few hours so the kids can climb on it and a wretched band of 12 year olds plays in the park. They were better than last year but that is not saying much. This year we had lots of political people walking around introducing themselves, as well as handing out literature.

I spent the rest of my day barbecuing, except during the storm, and hanging out with friends. I only got to watch part of 1776 this year and shot off only two of my illegal fireworks. The day was still quite a success, which was particularly amazing since I had less than two hours of sleep going onto it.

I am not sure where my Fourth of July affinity comes from. While I certainly consider myself patriotic, it is not in the Republican sense of the word. For example, I do not support the constant flag burning amendment effort - do you think Congress could waste a little more time? And I don't believe my country is always right and should be supported no matter what. Personally, I don't believe that is patriotic. Perhaps it is the triumph of the democratic philosophy that I find so attractive. (All right, I know that it is not a true democracy and there were numerous imperfections in the way the country was formed. I am talking uberthought here, not specifics. And yes, I know the day really should be the Second of July. I can hear the corrections even before I am done writing this. You know who you are.)

So ok, off of my Independence Day thing.

Past Few Tales


-

Thursday, October 26

Friday, October 20

Thursday, October 19

Wednesday, October 18


Upcoming raids


moon phases