Newest Tale

Older Tales

Mail the Herder

About the Mongols


Leave Me a Note


Saturday, May 13

hosted by DiaryLand.com


Tales from the Steppes


2006-05-15

1:47 p.m.
-

I had something slightly wierd and a bit creepy happen to me at lunch today. I was sitting in a booth at the restaurant in the hotel next to my office, reading a book while eating my lunch. The server drops off what I think is merely my check except when I look to pay it, I realize that there is a note written on it. "You just made my day. Please allow me to make yours. Bill is paid. Erick ### ### ####" I have no idea who it was that sent it. I waited to leave for a long time because I didn't want to deal with it. On my way out, I asked my server and he waved in the general direction where he said there was a man sitting earlier and said he assumed I knew the guy. Errrm, no. I will be rude because I am not going to call that number to say thank you for my lunch. So I feel equal parts guilty and creeped out - I did not do anything to make anyone's day today. And I don't plan on either. The thought of some guy watching me while I read my book, eating my lunch, makes my skin crawl. And that was such a line he wrote - not even original and personal.

But then, I try to look at it from a guy's point of view. Perhaps this is a normal way to get someone's attention. Maybe there are not many options when you see someone you think you might want to meet. I am still not calling that number.

In other fun and fabulous news, I got my first negative press today. Fortunately, it was just local and it was not by name. My coworkers are recirculating the story around the building by email - the people that it was originally sent to include the county executive and various council members. I am trying to maintain my sense of humor about this but most of the things I can think of to add levity will all get me in trouble.

9:40 a.m.
Monday, May 15

Look at me aging
Look at me shrinking
I still feel the same

- Mary Lou Lord

Back in the ofice after 2 days off. Except for having to come in on Friday for a little bit. So far I have been completely avoiding my voicemail. The little red light blinks at me incessantly but I really just don't want to know. My boss tells me we are in "crisis mode" for the next three weeks, as Josh's wife had her baby so we are down 20% staff. Wait, weren't we already in crisis mode from the stupid investigation? Perhaps now we are in super crisis mode. Double secret crisis mode? Ugh, spare me the drama.

Mothers Day was cool. Tacos and cinnamon buns for lunch, courtesy of the EM. Many hand drawn and computer-generated cards from the mongols. A necklace from the boys, flowers from the EM. And then I took a nap on my bed while all around me my family watched Zoolander. I was completely exhausted - after working until 3am, I had fallen asleep watching Al Gore's documentary on global warming only to be rudely awoken at 6am by a loud extended family that was staying in the hotel rooms surrounding mine.

I did get a lot done during my stay and more importantly, laid out a roadmap for completion. I had some fun as well and tried to destress a little. Everyone seemed to make it through my absence just fine, which I knew they would. I only averaged 5 phone calls a day and about as many IM sessions with various family members.

And finally, I was yacking with my favorite redhead last week and he told me about Pandora. What a great way to find new music! My biggest problem is that I can't listen to it while working or I will spend too much time finding out who is currently playing. But very, very cool. And dangerous to the wallet.

Past Few Tales


-

Thursday, October 26

Friday, October 20

Thursday, October 19

Wednesday, October 18


Upcoming raids


moon phases