Newest Tale

Older Tales

Mail the Herder

About the Mongols


Leave Me a Note


tuesday, May 9

hosted by DiaryLand.com


Tales from the Steppes


2006-05-12

8:00 a.m.
Friday, May 12

Low bridge, everybody down
Low bridge 'cause we're coming to a town

- Bruce Springsteen

So yesterday morning, I packed up all of my thesis stuff to go work in a hotel until Sunday. At least I tried to leave yesterday morning. I had the car packed with my over 70 books and several hundred journal articles when the phone rang. It was the elementary school nurse. The MM had thrown up. Again. So that was puking Tuesday morning, fine that afternoon and on Wednesday and then again throwing up on Thursday. Very very strange. But he seems to be fine now and I am going to talk to their pediatrician to get his thoughts at this point.

Probably most people will not be able to understand the need to actually go somewhere else to work. I doubt most of you live in a house that is as noisy as mine. Even when I go to my secret lair, I am not all that removed from my family as I am still responsible for chauffering, shopping, making all social arrangements, and adjuticating disputes. There are the endless phone calls and IMs, asking me when I will be home and what is for dinner and where is [insert object]. And on my way home, do I mind going by the drugstore and picking up some more [insert object]?

Hence my need to leave.

Needless to say, this was not a popular decision and there has been much grumbling. Dare I say whining?

And it is not like I have completely escaped. I have to go into work today to sign a few mylars and deal with a few details that really can't wait until Monday. And the EM has a performance tomorrow so I need to drive her to that, as it conflicts with a soccer game. And the children still IM me and call me to tattle on their siblings.

But I have already gotten more work done than I had in the last several weeks and I am just now ramping into high gear. And it is becoming crystal clear why I must go to Pennsic and shut my damn cell phone off.

Past Few Tales


-

Thursday, October 26

Friday, October 20

Thursday, October 19

Wednesday, October 18


Upcoming raids


moon phases