Newest Tale

Older Tales

Mail the Herder

About the Mongols


Leave Me a Note


Sunday, April 23

hosted by DiaryLand.com


Tales from the Steppes


2006-04-24

11:18 p.m.
-

New rule: If my shrimp toast is so hot that it melts the styrofoam completely through, it is TOO HOT. Let it sit and cool. I would rather have slightly cold food than be able to see it with the clamshell closed. And it have that yummy extra taste of melted hydrocarbon topping. Not my favorite condiment.

8:54 p.m.
Monday, April 24

Winter sounds the crying
Like an old man slowly dying
And the only sound, the wind that fills the trees

- Yaz

All three Mongols were home today with one stomach-related ailment or another. The YM started around 2am this morning, the MM around 7am, and the coup de grace was the EM, calling from school. I went into work early but had to be home by 10:30 so the SU could make in to work for an important telconferance. Or a "t-con" as those that have these sorts of things call them. I wouldn't know - in our office this sort of thing is called a "conference call". Perhaps if we called them a "concall" they would sound more important. Jauntier, as it were.

By the time I got home, the younger Mongols were feeling just fine. The eldest never seemed to feel all that bad but had to come home from school anyway. Now it is not that I WANT my children to feel bad. It is more that when they are sick, I'd like them to be a bit subdued. Is it really too much to ask for them to be able to watch tv without touching each other? Maybe they could lie there and read a book? For 5 minutes? But nooooooo. So I spend the entire day playing ref and trying not to strangle them as I explain for the 50 meellionth time, first you eat saltines, NOT THE WHOLE BOX!, if they stay down, you get chicken noodle soup, if that stays down, we can talk about other things. While I am trying to get my own work done at the dining room table.

I remember that on one of the Stan Rogers cds, he and Garnet were talking about recurrent themes in their music. For them it was death and loss. Maybe maiming, I don't remember and it isn't on my computer. For me the recent recurring theme seems to be puke. If I had only known I would have called this diary "Vomitherder". Or maybe "Pukeswabber". Makes me wonder why I bothered with the damn master's degree.

But that was pretty gratuitous. Sorry. Perhaps it is the adolescent attitude that I have suffered through all day that has put me in this mood. (Of course, the EM equally suffered, as I am not putting up with her shit. She got the wrong mom for that. Self-control. Not just a good idea, it's the law.) Maybe it is spending half the night up with a puking YM and getting up and going into work early. I do remember that right before the puking started last night, as I was out on my last walk of the day, I had a moment of clarity and was granted an insight. Perhaps tomorrow I will be able to remember it. For now, I will just enjoy the solitude of my secret lair.

Is it really only Monday?

Past Few Tales


-

Thursday, October 26

Friday, October 20

Thursday, October 19

Wednesday, October 18


Upcoming raids


moon phases