Newest Tale

Older Tales

Mail the Herder

About the Mongols


Leave Me a Note


-

hosted by DiaryLand.com


Tales from the Steppes


2006-03-30

9:48 a.m.
Thursday, March 30

While Mona Lisas and Mad Hatters
Sons of bankers, sons of lawyers,
Turn around and say good morning to the night

- Indigo Girls

Last night I went swimming for the first time in quite some while. Normally I hate swimming laps. It seems like such a pointless exercise. I hate running laps as well. If I am going to run, I want to run SOMEWHERE not be like a hamster in a wheel. I am usually only good for about 15 minutes of pointless exercise - long enough for a Bowflex workout but that's about it. If I am doing it with a friend, then it is no longer quite so boring and I am good for a bit more. Call me a hedonist but if I have a bit of free time, I want it to be fun.

But last night's swim was actually sort of fun. Or at least less boring. I got to try out my waterproof case for my mp3 player and that worked great. It occupied enough of my brain that I kept swimming longer than I usually do. Long enough for the endorphins to kick in. Total bliss. Guess I need to get more exercise.

The mongols have the day off from school tomorrow so I am taking the day off. Of course, I will take work home with me to do in the morning before they get up and spread the rest out over the weekend so I will not be too far behind. But the weather is supposed to be glorious so I chose this over making complicated, expensive childcare arrangements. It is cherry blossom time, which is a high point of the year for me, so perhaps I will take them downtown for a day on the Mall. Load up the car with frisbees, soccer balls, stomp rockets and a picnic and just make a day of it. If I time things right, I may even be able to get a decent parking space. The EM's best friend is spending the night and the entire day with us, so she will not be arguing with her brothers. This could be a special day. If I am feeling overly optimistic, I may even take a sketchbook.

Past Few Tales


-

Thursday, October 26

Friday, October 20

Thursday, October 19

Wednesday, October 18


Upcoming raids


moon phases