Newest Tale

Older Tales

Mail the Herder

About the Mongols


Leave Me a Note


-

hosted by DiaryLand.com


Tales from the Steppes


2006-02-17

6:37 p.m.
-

I did it!! I finally remembered all of the steps to that damn dance. Really thought I was having a special moment there. Of course, the fact that I have been doing this dance since before the new crop of Black Diamonders were walking doesn't make me feel any better. Did that help anyone else? Just thought I would share.

Not that this is a particularly important thing to use my brain cells on or anything. But people have expectations and we aim to please.

8:00 a.m.
Friday, February 17

First things first. Happy Birthday Mel! May your day be fabulous, may the Heir get a job, may your boss have a bad case of Spontaneous Human Combustion.

Well, surprise, surprise, I am going to Ice Castle after all. The YM and I are leaving at about 5am tomorrow morning to make the drive and then will spend the night before coming home. The SU is not completely happy with me about this but not so grumpy as to make a big fuss either. Probably because this gives him most of a day with no kids and then only the EM for the night.

The YM was dancing with excitement when I told him about the trip. His first question was whether he could wear his kilt to the event. Yes. His next question was whether I was sure he could wear his kilt. Yes. How did I know he was going to be allowed to wear his kilt. Because I know these people and it will be ok. As long as he has underwear on. Then he asked if his brother was going. I explained that, no, the MM has his best friend's birthday party, followed by a sleepover, so it would just be the two of us. At which point the YM danced off to tell his brother that he was getting to go to an event and the MM could not. And then he went to pack his kilt.

It really could be worse.

Recently the YM has been wearing a red ninja outfit, with the hood pulled up, of course. I think this was the MM's Halloween costume a few years back but I really can't remember. The crotch has holes in it so the SU has thrown the pants out several times but mysteriously they always disappear from the trash can. And these are not holes that can be fixed. Fortunately, the YM is snack sized, next to the MM, so the shirt is long enough that no one ever sees the holes. But every week we have to have the conversation about how many times he can wear the red ninja costume to school. And when am I going to get him a blue ninja costume? Perhaps I will look on Ebay today.

My only hope is that the YM does not grow up to be an ice skater. This is nothing against ice skating itself. Or about sexual orientation or expressing oneself through movement. No, it is about wearing ugly, ugly costumes. Like the Hun-e-bee, I love the Olympics and I watch more than of any other type of tv. And last night I saw some eye-searingly ugly costumes. Like the guy who had on a shirt with white and black tiger stripes on the front, orange and black tiger stripes on the back, and a blue tonal ombre lower sleeve. And then there was the red pirate outfit. Please God, let my son grow up to wear more tasteful costumes than this! And while you're at it, could we please have no Village People getups either. It's just so overdone.

But now I have to stress my brain with remembering all the steps to Hole in the Head, because I know they are going to ask. I have the first and last parts down but I am blanking on the middle. Pretty sad. I know I have it written down somewhere, as I had to email it to someone at some point but I am having a senior moment here. Anyone?? Help?

Past Few Tales


-

Thursday, October 26

Friday, October 20

Thursday, October 19

Wednesday, October 18


Upcoming raids


moon phases