Newest Tale

Older Tales

Mail the Herder

About the Mongols


Leave Me a Note


-

hosted by DiaryLand.com


Tales from the Steppes


2006-02-10

9:57 a.m.
Friday, February 10

This afternoon is the EM's first middle school dance. It is a referral-free dance - one for all the kids who have not been sent to the principals office, sponsored by the PTSA as a thank-you for kids behaving well. Now, I don't know about you but in my entire public school career, I NEVER got sent to the principal's office. Never. And I did not consider it to be any great accomplishment - certainly not worth noting or rewarding. I cannot decide if I am feeling old or well-bred.

The EM is wearing a brand-new outfit that she got when my mother and I took her shopping. It is a lovely green skirt, tank top, and crocheted sweater. And a pair of my shoes. These were the same shoes I wore to work yesterday. Sigh. She wanted to wear something more special than her usual dance sneakers or clogs but had outgrown all of her own pairs. Now I do not have small feet - these shoes are a size 10, so I find it a bit unbelievble that my 11 year old is taking my shoes. But it is certainly not the first pair she has borrowed and as she gets older, more and more of my stuff is migrating her way.

Like my t-shirts, pants, socks, and underwear.

Don't get me wrong, none of this stuff actually fits her - she is not nearly my size. My t-shirts look very different on her than they do on me. And my yoga pants hang off of her, with the drawstring pulled as tight as she can make it. The sock thing I try to keep under control or I end up with no socks at all. And the underwear was just wrong and I told her so. Just because it is in your drawer (courtesy of the SU) does not mean it is yours.

Don't ask me why the SU cannot tell our underwear apart. It is a mystery to me.

Past Few Tales


-

Thursday, October 26

Friday, October 20

Thursday, October 19

Wednesday, October 18


Upcoming raids


moon phases