Newest Tale

Older Tales

Mail the Herder

About the Mongols


Leave Me a Note


Sunday, January 15

hosted by DiaryLand.com


Tales from the Steppes


2006-01-18

3:08 p.m.
-

The downside to having 10 different colors of highlighters is that I feel compelled to use them all. And when I am done, my plans look like Divine smeared his face all over the paper. The upside is that the plan is then very impressive looking when I whip it out to talk to an applicant and their engineers and lawyers - a bit of cheap theater.

8:15 a.m.
Wednesday, January 18

I spent my day with the YM mostly at the mall. Not really my choice but that is where the movie was showing so that is where we went. It was kind of cool to watch a movie that was directly aimed at his age group instead of having to worry if he is going to be scared, confused, or bored by the subject matter. But "Hoodwinked" was just right and I did not fall asleep in it, like I did in last summer's "Valiant".

After the movie, we went to the food court for lunch, to Stride Rite for a couple of pairs of sneakers, and then a very special treat - Build-A-Bear Workshop. The YM got to pick out a bear and all it's accoutrements. When the worker told him to pick out a heart for his bear and rub it against his and then kiss it before putting it in the bear, he did so with great earnestness. Sometimes it is good to still have a believer in the family. But then when it came time to pick out the clothes for the bear, he wanted a camoflauge army outfit, so we had to have a little discussion. We finally settled on a set of Navy whites, with a sailor hat.

And then it came time to name the bear. To hell with a cute name - no Snuffles or Fuzzys here. No, he named his bear Cthulhu. I tried to talk him out of it but his mind was made up. When we got to the cash register to pay and pick up the bear's birth certificate, the cashier remarked on what an unusual name it was. She asked him what it meant and he replied that Cthulhu was an alien, which I guess is technically correct - he did travel across space and time. I explained to the puzzled girl that he was a fictional Elder God before I realized that I could have said anything and it would have been ok. Or at least no worse than the truth.

Past Few Tales


-

Thursday, October 26

Friday, October 20

Thursday, October 19

Wednesday, October 18


Upcoming raids


moon phases