Newest Tale

Older Tales

Mail the Herder

About the Mongols


Leave Me a Note


Wednesday, December 14

hosted by DiaryLand.com


Tales from the Steppes


2005-12-15

11:36 a.m.
Thursday, December 15

And fate has led you through it
You do what you have to do

- Sarah McLachlan

As always, I am hopelessly behind in my holiday preparations. I have not sent out my cards nor have I mailed packlages yet. I have not even finished the shopping that is supposed to go into these packages. When will I do it? Beats me. I am sure it will work out in the end though. After all, I have nearly 10 days to get it all done in.

Except that my pesky life that keeps getting in the way.

Friday night we are going to the Revels - a longstanding family tradition. And the only time I will get out to something festive over the holidays. The EM has her final two performances this Saturday. Sunday is taken up with a couple of parties and maybe? please please please some thesis fieldwork. The SU has a major medical test on Tuesday, followed by a late evening lecture on Wednesday. By my count, this leaves me Monday, Thursday, and Friday nights to get everything done. The following Saturday is a write-off because I will be busy cooking and cleaning for our annual Christmas Eve party.

I would just take a day off and get it all done except the MM and YM have an extra two days off for the winter holidays. They are finally moving from the holding school back to their real school. These days are ones that everyone else in the County has to be in school, so no care is available. Apparently these things cannot be done during the standard week that they are off. I still have the same amount of work to get done regardless of the holidays, so I cannot afford to take anymore time now.

I am sure it will all work out somehow. Perhaps the internet will be my friend.

The SU finally published his Christmas list, full of such exciting things as dress shirts, a flashlight, and a belt. Totally lame. I do give him points for at least now recognizing that it is a lame list. I say that the list is lame because long experience has taught me that this is not what he really wants. One year I went through and got him every single utilitarian thing on his list and he was completely miserable on Christmas. He pulled a total Eeyore and moped because he got boring things. After he asked for them. So I pretty much ignore whatever list he comes up with and have to come up with a gee whiz thing on my own. This is especially difficult because he does not actually have any hobbies nor does he play any sports. Fortunately I had a major brainstorm earlier in the year and have something in mind already.

Two and a half hours off early today for the children. More joy for me. Perhaps I can torture myself by making them all go grocery shopping. The process is similar to walking a cat on a leash - it lies on it's belly and yowls while you try to drag it along. Maybe I can throw in a lecture on the importance of good nutrition as we go up and down the aisles - if I have to listen to them whine, they can listen to me blather.

Past Few Tales


-

Thursday, October 26

Friday, October 20

Thursday, October 19

Wednesday, October 18


Upcoming raids


moon phases