Newest Tale

Older Tales

Mail the Herder

About the Mongols


Leave Me a Note


Monday, October 31

hosted by DiaryLand.com


Tales from the Steppes


2005-11-02

7:32 a.m.
-

I have very mixed feelings about today. On the one hand, I am smacking myself for being stooooopid. On the other hand, maybe taking a little break here is not such a bad thing. Of course, it may be the last shreds of my sanity that break.

You see, in a burst of foolish optimism, at the beginning of the school year I volunteered to chaperone the EM's Outdoor Ed trip. 2 1/2 days of bliss with a cabin of hormonal 6th graders. The scary thing is that while I call my children Mongols, at least 2 out of 3 of them really are not as hordeish as most kids. At least not in public. Yeah, I know. What was I thinking? But it was the beginning of the school year and I am always hopeful about my time constraints. And I was feeling guilty about not doing my fair share of volunteering. So off I go, not even taking my laptop.

It would have been nice if my deadlines had realized I was taking a couple of days off. I told them but they do not seem to care. I have enough problems allowing myself to take a break but to have a bunch of developers hyperventilating because you won't be there to hold their hands and look at their plans is just pathetic. I am fortunate Pennsic falls in August, when the Planning Board is in recess, otherwise I would have to feel guilty about that.

However, I do feel I have made some progress on one front. I did not cook a single meal to be eaten while I am gone. I did do the shopping and made suitable younger Mongol arrangements though.

But now, I am late. Back on Friday.

11:05 p.m.
Thursday, November 1

Yo ho, yo ho, a pirate's life for me

You scored as Captain Jack Sparrow. Roguish,quick-witted, and incredibly lucky, Jack Sparrow is a pirate who sometimes ends up being a hero, against his better judgement. Captain Jack looks out for #1, but he can be counted on (usually) to do the right thing. He has an incredibly persuasive tongue, a mind that borders on genius or insanity, and an incredible talent for getting into trouble and getting out of it. Maybe its brains, maybe its genius, or maybe its just plain luck. Or maybe a mixture of all three.

Captain Jack Sparrow

75%

Lara Croft

71%

Neo, the "One"

71%

Indiana Jones

58%

El Zorro

58%

William Wallace

58%

Batman, the Dark Knight

58%

Maximus

54%

James Bond, Agent 007

54%

The Terminator

50%

The Amazing Spider-Man

38%

Which Action Hero Would You Be? v. 2.0
created with QuizFarm.com

Past Few Tales


-

Thursday, October 26

Friday, October 20

Thursday, October 19

Wednesday, October 18


Upcoming raids


moon phases