Newest Tale

Older Tales

Mail the Herder

About the Mongols


Leave Me a Note


Friday, October 14

hosted by DiaryLand.com


Tales from the Steppes


2005-10-17

10:51 a.m.
Monday, October 17

Chominciamento do gioia
- Anonymous

I have not figured out the right word to describe my last work at week. I think a cross between "intriguing" and "uncomfortable" probably comes the closest. At least it hasn't been boring - that is one thing I cannot abide.

I dealt with two ethical issues that were serious lapses on both responsible parties. In the first case, a consultant (we call him Disco Dean because of his gold chain, open shirt, and feathered hair) lied to an associate in a meeting, because his client was present. This sort of thing happens all of the time - slimy but not unusual. The problem is that to cover the lie, the consultant needed to get me the plans he said he had already delivered. Normally when plans come into our office, they go through the receptionist, who date stamps them into the system. The consultant did not want this, so he asked where my office is located, because he wanted to talk to me. My associate gave him a general description but told him he needed to go see the receptionist and she would call me to meet him at the desk. Disco Dean could not find my office, partly because I have no name sign on the outside, so he started pestering one of my coworkers as to where I sit. Naz finally showed him, but told him I was at a meeting for the day. So this consultant got left alone in my office, with no one to watch what he did. This might not sound like a big deal, but I have 30 or 40 development plans in various stages of the process, not locked up, some of them partially exploded onto my drafting table. Not for public view. There is also a bit of the ook factor here as well. When I gently reminded Disco Dean that he should take his plans to the receptionist, something every consultant knows, he told me that my associate told him to take them to my desk and spun a real story with great details surrounding this lie. *Snicker* Does he not think we talk to each other? And I would know he was lying. Naz complained to me as well, though it was not good thinking on his part to show the slimemold to my desk.

The second ethical issue is a far greater one that I hope will not turn into something big. In this case, an applicant does not agree with a determination we have made and wants to be exempt from certain regulations. I explained the issue and relevant law to their consultant and thought I was all done with the matter. Little did I know that the applicant used to work with the executive director of the bicounty organization I work for and would email her about this. And she would email me personally on the matter. Oh, but she doesn't want to "influence" my judgement. Yet she did not follow the chain of command down with her request nor did she CC anyone on this, so it was essentially off the record. I responded promptly, courteously, and precisely, telling her essentially what the applicant had told her and reminding her that there is no provision in the law for staff discretion on this matter. And put the entire exchange on the record with CC's to everyone up my supervisory chain. Words fail me to describe the idiocy of this behaviour. Perhaps if we as an agency were not in the middle of being slammed up one side and down the other for staff discretionary decisions and perceived ethical lapses, I might could understand this. No, scratch that. Inserting herself into an individual case is still right out, no matter the timing. I am hoping this was not a careeer-limiting reaction on my part but at least I acted correctly.

Besides, the woman obviously does not know me. "Influence" me? You could be walking on water and I would still be the Vogon insisting on you following the same due process afforded to everyone. Fortunately my poetry has never induced any limb gnawing and I am rarely in favor of building bypasses.

Past Few Tales


-

Thursday, October 26

Friday, October 20

Thursday, October 19

Wednesday, October 18


Upcoming raids


moon phases