Newest Tale

Older Tales

Mail the Herder

About the Mongols


Leave Me a Note


Monday, October 10

hosted by DiaryLand.com


Tales from the Steppes


2005-10-14

2:17 p.m.
Friday, October 14

Oh yeah, all right
Take it easy, baby

- Tom Petty

I thought I was going to make it to Storvik's Baronial Birthday this weekend. After all, the SU is gone for nearly a week, so I would not have to hear about all of the other things I should be doing. But the logistics have just become too much for me to justify doing it. Between the MM's soccer game and EM's ballet lessons and rehearsal time, my Saturday is totally blown. Oh well. I was going to have to sew garb for the EM anyway so that was going to add another thing onto my "To Do" list.

I have discovered a personality issue that I find a bit annoying. No, not that one. A different one. I have found that when I am given a set of rules to follow when evaluating something, anything, I have to follow them to the letter. Normally in life, I have very few rules - more like guidelines. Everything is various shades of grey and I can dither for long periods of time over the merits of things. But give me a set of rules or laws and I become some sort of Nazi. I will not bend the rules and will apply them to their fullest extent, regardless of who you are and what the extenuating situation is. If the law says "X" and there are no exemptions or ways around the law, then it is "X." Period. No discussion or weaseling.

I can't say I particularly like this incarnation of myself. It is such an antithesis of the rest of my existence that I find it a bit uncomfortable. I guess in a way it is like solving a math problem in that it is the application of a series of rules to find the ultimate answer, which I do not find uncomfortble at all. But for some reason I find this aspect of my job irritating - I do it well but it bothers me.

Erotic movie title experiment update:
So far a complete blow out. The current champion retains the title but we will see what the future brings on this one. Perhaps it takes a while for the various spiders and web crawlers to add things to the search engines.

Past Few Tales


-

Thursday, October 26

Friday, October 20

Thursday, October 19

Wednesday, October 18


Upcoming raids


moon phases