Newest Tale

Older Tales

Mail the Herder

About the Mongols


Leave Me a Note


Sunday, October 2

hosted by DiaryLand.com


Tales from the Steppes


2005-10-03

4:57 p.m.
-

What happened to my "Members Area"? Why is it mostly in shades of grey? I don't think I did that. And I know it isn't my monitor - everything else looks ok.

And shouldn't it be a "Member's Area"? I thought it was a place that belonged to the member, not a place your member belongs....

No, I haven't had too much caffeine.

8:27 a.m.
Monday, October 3

I listen to the wind
to the wind of my soul

- Cat Stevens

My primary research is actually coming along, slowly but surely. Yesterday I picked up cameras and set up interviews for later this week with some of the kids. I still have a lot more to go but at least I am making progress. I need to find a relatively cheap, quick place to get the cameras processed, as this all comes out of my pocket. I cannot wait to see what the kids took pictures of - I am hopeful that my methodology isn't crap. That would totally blow if the conclusion to my thesis was "It seemed like a good idea at the time but it just didn't work out."

If you have been following my advisor saga, you may recall that my primary advisor, an adjunct professor, has fallen into a crack in the earth. This has left me with my secondary advisor, the head of the program, moving into the primary role. Friday, I got an email announcing that he is leaving the program and moving as of December. I am still in the head shaking, shocked phase to truly begin to contemplate what this will mean for my work. I am glad he got the appointment he wanted, as he certainly deserves it, but I am starting to feel a little like Coyote chasing after the Roadrunner.

Ok, so here is my peeve of the moment. I am all for bikes and the people that ride them. I am even ok with bikers that ride in the road even though the County has thoughtfully provided them with a separate path. What I am not ok with is bikers that ignore the rules of traffic as they ride in the road. Every weekend clots of cyclists blow through stop signs and traffic lights all through my neighborhood, expecting others to look out for them. Instead of being responsible and trying to work within a multi-modal system. I do feel that drivers have a responsibility to watch for bikes but there should be reciprocity here as well.

Ok, I'm done now.

Past Few Tales


-

Thursday, October 26

Friday, October 20

Thursday, October 19

Wednesday, October 18


Upcoming raids


moon phases