Newest Tale

Older Tales

Mail the Herder

About the Mongols


Leave Me a Note


Friday, September 16

hosted by DiaryLand.com


Tales from the Steppes


2005-09-19

3:21 p.m.

The KKK took my baby away
- The Ramones

The Ramones, yeah! 'Cause I'm reviewing plans and it is great music to redline by. well, I am supposed to be reviewing plans but instead I am slacking. your tax dollars at work

I almost wore a fuck you suit to meet my special engineers in. This is not to be confused with fuck me heels, which might suggest that I am interested in you. I do not actually own any of those. The fuck you suit tells people that they better stay on their side of the table and don't even think of making small talk with me - we are past that stage. Occasionally, you need to make the statement that you are not a person to be trifled with and you don't appreciate your time being wasted, again and again.

But I didn't. And I am really glad I did not go to that effort. Because if I had actually put pantyhose on to listen to a bunch of pathetic excuses about old CAD layers and new employees, I would really be pissed. don't get me started on pantyhose. it's a complete different rant and I will save it for some time when I actually put the damn things on. here's a little preview - sausage casings. yuck It seems that the entire point of this meeting was for them to assure me that their firm is reputable and does good work. And it was a chance for the supervisor to get the junior engineer to sit there and tell me what went wrong on this plan.

I was kind. Really. It does happen. Occasionally. I did not go into detail the history of how badly the engineer messed up this simple plan. I did feel like my time was a bit wasted, as we did not actually need to have this meeting.

9:22 a.m.
Monday, September 19

Well I guess what you say is true
I could never be the right kind of girl for you

- White Town

Yesterday afternoon was spent trying to get participants for my primary research lined up. I evaluated parts of the neighborhood I am studying for specific factors - pedestrian network, green spaces, play opportunites, traffic safety, child population, etc., and have delineated four areas to study. So now I have to get the parents and children to participate in the actual research. Not as easy as it sounds.

I had written up a letter, introducing the research and asking for participants, but I thought that if I mailed it, it would get tossed as junk mail. So I went door to door, giving it to people and talking about what I am doing. I guess I should say "trying to do," as it does not seem certain that I will get enough people to participate to be able to draw any valid conclusions.

Reactions ranged from "We'll think about it" to "Oh, I am not so certain we are interested in this sort of thing." Except for one family, and I think that was because the kids were outside talking to me before the mother came out. They signed the consent form, proxy consent form, and assent forms on the spot and I gave them the disposable cameras right then. As I left, the kids were running around taking pictures like little lunatics.

The problem is not getting the kids to participate; it is getting the parents to allow the kids to take part in this. Since I am not funded, there is nothing I can offer of any substance. The kids get copies of their photos and an ice cream cone. BFD. Perhaps in less affluent areas, this would be enough. But it is not like I am really asking that much of them either. I guess if people do not see any direct benefit, they are not willing to spend any time on an activity.

It occurs to me, being as I am not really all that together, that I may not have actually ever described my research protocol here. I have certainly talked about it enough but I may not have been specific or detailed. Or maybe I have and just do not remember it. Anyway, I have picked four areas of this New Urbanist neighborhood that differ in their built form, amenities, and posture in the neighborhood. I mapped out the locations of all of the children that go to the local elementary school, to make sure that kids actually live in the areas I picked. I will be giving each child that participates a disposable camera and directions on taking pictures to show someone their neighborhood that has never seen it before. The parents have instructions to let the kids take pictures of whatever they want. Even if the kids just take pictures of their friends, that does tell me something about what matters to them.

After getting the photos developed, the kids will take me on a guided tour of their neighborhood, whatever they consider it to be. I have a series of questions to ask them while we walk but this is an informal unthreatening way to find out more. Finally, I need to interview their parents for maybe 15 minutes max, just as a bit of a reality check and also to find out the parental attitudes.

So anyway, that's it. Very exciting, I know. But it is what I am interested in and since I cannot seem to get many other professionals to care about the environment our children grow up in, I am in a bit of a niche. Unless children are in institutions that are designed for them, they do not count.

But now, time for me to prep for a meeting with my favorite problem children engineers. The ones that have caused a lawyer to show up to pester me not once or twice but three times now. Can they simultaneously pressure me while explaining their incompetance? I look forward to finding out.

Past Few Tales


-

Thursday, October 26

Friday, October 20

Thursday, October 19

Wednesday, October 18


Upcoming raids


moon phases