Newest Tale

Older Tales

Mail the Herder

About the Mongols


Leave Me a Note


Friday, September 9

hosted by DiaryLand.com


Tales from the Steppes


2005-09-12

5:06 p.m.

Several seasons with their treasons
- The Grateful Dead

Tomorrow is Team Building Day here. This is my employer's way of giving you a pat on the head, gosh you're doing a great job, without spending real money. Sure, they feed you lunch and in theory, you get the time to attend this fabulous function. Myself, I'd rather have the money. I'm sure my morale would be raised more with $10 or $15 than by a party with my coworkers.

Like most functions of this sort, there is a lame theme. Ours involves a tropical cruise ship. Why? Who knows. All of the activities take place at one of our local parks. Because we don't have to pay to use them.

The only thing that costs extra is swimming in the pool, because the Rec department runs it and they certainly aren't going to let us use it for free. But it really doesn't matter whether they are charging for the pool or not. Who is going to go in an outdoor pool with the people they work with all around them? Let me just check my list of Things To Do Before I Die. Nope. "Appear before coworkers in my swimsuit" is not on it.

I don't think I am going to this extravaganza anyway. Not only is my desk covered with work but I must drive up to Baltimore yet again. It amazes me how many trips I must make to school just to straighten out simple issues, like registering for thesis continuance. I am now told that I must show up every Tuesday afternoon for this "class", to talk with others about issues surrounding my research. Since I am the only one working, much less working full time, everyone else like Tuesday afternoon. I have not told my boss yet but I can only imagine his reaction. And I now will have to find more time to work to make up for this loss. Just stick a fork in me.

9:34 a.m.
Monday, September 12

Yeah-yeah, Oh I'm newly calibrated
Yeah-yeah, Oh shiny and clean

- Collective Soul

Yesterday I went to see my father in the hospital and there were actually signs of improvement! He still has to use a walker but he was able to get out of bed without needing help. This is definitely a good sign.

The doctors still do not have a definitive diagnosis for his condition but reasoned that this particular treatment was not going to hurt him if they were wrong. Their current theory is that he has chronic inflammatory demyelinating polyneuropathy, which means he will have this for life. But, if the immunoglobulin infusions work, he will be able to get on with his life and just deal with the recurrences. He has finally decided that now may just be the right time to retire.

My visit at the hospital overlapped with my mother and older sister and I was pleased at the lack of drama. This will probably be the last time I get to see my sister for quite some time, as she will be out and about for a bit and then back to Belgium. My mother often tries to pry into exactly what my sister is doing and will try to make "significant" comments on the phone. My sister has reminded her in person on several occasions that her phone is tapped and my mother is not to ask inappropriate questions or make any comments to no avail. And now my sister is headed off in a mysterious fashion and it is killing my mother that Honey will not tell her exactly what is going on. But everyone behaved for once - my mother did not ask any obnoxious questions, my sister did not tell her off a bit impolitely, and I did not roll my eyes. Not once.

Since the Redskins game was on, we did have to have a rehash of the whole Dan Snyder tree incident. They were of the opinion that our fine was too low but I explained that the fine was not based on Dan Snyder and his millions but on his actual crime.

BTW, if anyone wants to go see the Redskins this season, I am selling my sister's tickets. She has 4 season tickets that she has never gotten to use because she moved overseas right after her number came up. Last year, I sold them off as complete packages; this year, I have broken them up by the game. I know this is crass but I really want to be done with these damn tickets. I have no interest in football and am just trying to help her out with this. So if you know anyone that wants to go see the Skins, please let me know. I have dealt with Craigslist so far but it is just a pain.

Past Few Tales


-

Thursday, October 26

Friday, October 20

Thursday, October 19

Wednesday, October 18


Upcoming raids


moon phases