Newest Tale

Older Tales

Mail the Herder

About the Mongols


Leave Me a Note


Friday, August 26

hosted by DiaryLand.com


Tales from the Steppes


2005-08-29

11:54 a.m.
Monday, August 29

And everytime you hear the rolling thunder
You turn around before the lightening strikes

- Sheryl Crow

This quote really bugs the hell out of me. One of two things is going on with this song and both are irksome alternatives. Either Sheryl Crow cannot spell and does not know that lightning comes before thunder. Or she is trying to imply things are getting lighter and does not understand that people cannot tell homophones apart on the radio and her usage is not helping. Either way, everytime I hear this song, I am annoyed and so I felt like I needed to share this. This quote is from her web site, so I am reasonably certain that it is correct. Maybe the "rolling thunder" is implying a connection to motorcyclists that are sages, coming to share their enlightenment. Or headlights

Yeah, I know. I should get a life. I ordered one but it just hasn't arrived yet. Customer service tells me that it is in the mail so maybe it will happen soon. I am not holding my breath and would advise the same for everyone else.

Last week totally sucked. There were some bright spots to it - most notable was my hiring an afterschool babysitter. She not only speaks English and drives her own car but is an Early Childhood Education major and is looking forward to helping teach the YM to read. Other bright spots included getting my furniture moved back into place, watching Shaun of the Dead while folding laundry and having a relatively nice Friday evening with a friend.

Except for the EM throwing up.

Over and over again.

Saturday night was the MM's turn. The YM ran a fever for most of the weekend, punctuated with a brief puking epsiode that appears to be unrelated to the other mongols' expulsions.

On the positive side, everyone was well enough to head off to their first day of school. And I am happy to be at my desk, alone, with no vomit in sight. It makes dealing with cranky engineers seem trivial.

Past Few Tales


-

Thursday, October 26

Friday, October 20

Thursday, October 19

Wednesday, October 18


Upcoming raids


moon phases