Newest Tale

Older Tales

Mail the Herder

About the Mongols


Leave Me a Note


hosted by DiaryLand.com


Tales from the Steppes


2005-08-07

9:31 p.m.
Sunday, August 7

Sadly enough, the only sound here tonight is that of the MM puking, the SU watching tv, and laundry, endless laundry. There is nothing I can do for the MM - no idea why he's throwing up and he is old enough to handle it himself. I check in with him after each round but beyond my sympathy, there just isn't much else to be done for it.

So last weeks little pity party is officially over. So what if the only man to give me flowers in the last 7 years is my vet. I can go buy my own damn flowers.

I have actually made some progress towards Pennsic. No, my helm is STILL not padded. It seems that we did not have enough foam on hand to accomplish the task. And of course, this fact can not be discovered until after the foam store closed for the weekend. Grrrrrr. I did get my garb out of the attic and mostly tried on while the SU was out with the EM at the movies. And much of it is packed. Still not sure exactly which day I will be leaving or which car I am taking. It cannot be too soon for me. I really, really need a vacation.

Tomorrow morning I get to head out in the field to check a site that is in violation of it's approved plan. The owner has filed an ammendment to bring it into compliance so I am allowed on the property without any notice. The only complication could be that the owner hates us and thinks we are out to get his business. Not true at all but he is in violation and is not going to be allowed to continue in his present configuration. I have a feeling that this little saga will go on for some time, as there are a lot of politics involved at a much higher level. I am still not sure how this ended up on my desk but I suspect that it, like shit, rolled downhill. Fine, let this asshole try to give me a hard time. I don't care. Well, ok, that isn't strictly true. It really sucks to have people yell at you and insinuate nasty things when they disagree with you. Adds stress to my life but it would never stop me from doing my job well

7:50 a.m.
Thursday, August 4

And I wouldn't be the one to kneel before the dreams I wanted
- The Goo Goo Dolls

Yesterday afternoon I had a few minutes in between the floor guy leaving and needing to be on the road to pick up the EM from ballet camp. It being hot and gross, I thought I would put on non-work clothes for the long drive. Of course, as soon as I was naked, someone knocked at the front door. So I grabbed a towel and went downstairs, thinking that the floor guy had probably just left something - a tape measure or a clipboard. Instead, it was a florist deliveryperson with flowers for me. More correctly, a flower. One ivory rose in a vase with some ferns and baby's breath. Hrrrrrrm. Not my birthday, anniversary, or anything. And the SU does not do flowers.

Fortunately there was a card. The flower was from Max's vet, offering condolences on his death, to go with the card he sent last week. While I certainly appreciate the thought, I didn't really need to have that band-aid ripped off. And I am not so naive as to believe that there was anything personal behind this - he has an account with the florists and must send them to all of his bereaved pet owners. It was still a nice gesture.

The SU has yet to comment on the appearance of a rose on the dining room table.

Past Few Tales


-

Thursday, October 26

Friday, October 20

Thursday, October 19

Wednesday, October 18


Upcoming raids


moon phases