Newest Tale

Older Tales

Mail the Herder

About the Mongols


Leave Me a Note


Monday, August 1

hosted by DiaryLand.com


Tales from the Steppes


2005-08-02

9:59 a.m.
Tuesday, August 2

"What's the frequency, Kenneth?" is your benzendrine, uh-huh
I was brain-dead, locked out, numb, not up to speed

- REM

Sometimes the YM really astounds me with the things he says. Much of the time in a head-scratching "If you say so" kind of way, which I guess this really was too but it still left me with a warm, fuzzy feeling. We had been eating dinner and I was trying to explain to the MM why he did not need to eat as much as he wanted to that night. Basically, he had already consumed about twice as many calories as I had and I felt that if he truly was still hungry, he could have fruit or vegetables. I have been fighting an uphill battle with him for several years to try to teach him healthy eating habits without crossing the line into obsession. I am certainly not interested in going on about what he is eating constantly.

I had just finished pointing out to him that his wrists were bigger around than mine and it is not like I am insubstantial myself. I had gone into the kitchen to start cleaning up when I heard the SU continuing the conversation with all of the Mongols. The YM maintained that he was fat because if he tried really really hard, he could stick his stomach out. The SU told him that no, he was the thinnest person in the house and the YM argued with him and said I was. Apparently, in his eyes I am skinny and beautiful.

Now I am not laboring under any misconception here - we are not talking reality, just perception. But it is still pretty cool that the YM thinks this. There are far worse things in life than to have your child think you are some thin babe. Now if we can just add rich and tall to the equation, we will really be cooking with gas.

Actually, I have been working on rich. I have been trying to convince the Mongols that they are extremely wealthy as compared to the rest of the planet. Which is true. Every time they whine at me because I will not buy all the miscellaneous crap they want, I try to point out how much they already have and how much more they have than most people. Once again, a losing battle. But there is not much else I can do in the face of friends who have their own computers, tv's, Playstations, in their rooms.

Past Few Tales


-

Thursday, October 26

Friday, October 20

Thursday, October 19

Wednesday, October 18


Upcoming raids


moon phases