Newest Tale

Older Tales

Mail the Herder

About the Mongols


Leave Me a Note


-

hosted by DiaryLand.com


Tales from the Steppes


2005-07-05

2:41 p.m.
-

It doesn't mean much
It doesn't mean anything at all

As a reward for the MM's fine school performance and all-around reponsible behavior, I had promised him a camping trip. He decided to allow the other mongols and his father along because he thought he might get bored without them. So this last weekend, we all went up to a cabin I had rented in WV. No electricity, no water, over 100 solitary acres on a mountain side. http://www.rusticretreats.net/thistlehollow.html

The MM, Beorn (the sheepdog of doom) and I left on Friday afternoon and sat through hours and hours of traffic with all of the other fools. We made a stop in Hancock for arrows for his new bow and got to the gate at the main road after nightfall. I was glad I have 4 wheel drive or I never would have made it up to the top. When the SU arrived the next day, he had to park at the bottom and I ferried them and their stuff to the top of the mountain.

I took a large cabin tent for the MM and I to stay in and I had great fun erecting it by headlight. After I was done with that and had my car mostly unloaded, I started a fire in one of the fire rings and we roasted hot dogs over the fire for a late dinner. As we sat around the fire, I decided to try to pluck back some of the high growing grass from the fire ring area. It seemed like a fine idea at the time, except for the fact that my chair was precariously balanced on the slope. Over I went, dousing myself in one of the two cold beers I had brought on the trip. It was pretty funny, though not necessarily one of my more graceful moments.

One of the other amusing things that happened was on Saturday, after the other mongols arrived. We encouraged all three mongols to go off and explore, mostly so the SU and I could lay on the porch and read our books without their noise. The EM went off to see what was about, leaving her brothers to play in the tent. Now the EM is not necessarily the rough and tumble sort. She plays no sports and despises bugs of all sorts, especially spiders. About 20 minutes after she took off, we heard a yelp from down the mountain. So the SU took off cross country looking for her. More noises ensued so I decided that maybe a vehicle would be a good thing, told the boys to stay where they were, and started driving down the road to find her. I reached her before the SU and found her intact but with one shoe off. Apparently, she fell and hurt her foot.... And there was a tick on her sock. Hence the screaming. There were no lacerations, bruising or swelling on her foot, nor did any develop. But there was a tick on the sock she took off. Sigh. Whose genes are these? How can you be scared of something you can squish?

While we are dealing with the hysterical EM, we look up and see that the MM, YM, and wily beast have decided to head down the mountainside as well. Contrary to directions. I loaded the EM into my car and headed back to camp, while the SU blistered some ear drums. Only the MM seemed chagrined - the YM and wily beast cavorted back up to camp unencumbered by guilt.

9:59 a.m.
Tuesday, July 5

My name is Ariel
And I want to be free

See, Squotter, I can occasionally remove the stick. And that blue flower by the side of the road is Cichorium intybus, Chicory.

Killing time at work, hoping no one walks back to my cubicle.

1. What is your full name? Amy Victoria, as my grandmother calls me.

2. What color pants are you wearing? Umm, skirt. It's a blue, screaming pink, and purple Hawaiian print surfer skirt. And a whole lot more attractive than it sounds.

3. What are you listening to right now? "Ariel" - The October Project.

4. What was the last thing you ate? Orange tofu (like orange chicken, only not) for dinner last night. It's one of the few things I know will still be in the fridge when I go to eat it next.

5. Do you wish on stars? When there is something I really want but have no real means to acheive it.

6. If you were a crayon, what color would you be? While I might like to think I am a silvery bluish-purple, the reality is that I would end up puce.

7. How is the weather right now? I have no way of knowing - I am in a climate controlled cubicle. It's always perfect in my sun-free little slice o'heaven.

8. Last person you spoke to on the phone? The Rockrat, over in Japan.

9. Do you like the person who sent this to you? Very much so.

10. Favorite drink? I don't really have one. Perhaps freshly-made unsweetened iced tea.

11. Favorite sport? That is a tough one. I think of most of what I do as an activity, not a sport, because of the degree of competitiveness. Mountain biking, trekking, trail running, almost anything outside.

12. Hair color? Reddish, goldish, brownish - it varies on a hair by hair basis.

13. Siblings? 1 older sister and 1 younger brother.

14. Favorite month? Each has it's good points but October is probably my favorite.

15. Favorite food? B'stilla with a glass of wine, while reclined on a couch watching male belly dancers. The way to my heart is through good Morrocan food

16. What was the last movie you saw? 1776, my personal Fourth of July ritual.

17. Favorite day of the year? If I had to pick just one, I would say Halloween

18. What do you do to vent anger? I think we all know the answer to that - I write in my blog.

19. What was your favorite toy as a child? We had a swing in the backyard that I used to sit on and listen to the birds.

20. Summer or winter? How about spring or fall? I like all seasons for their own qualities.

21. Hugs or kisses? Now we are getting a little personal. For me, people are divided into three categories - the vast majority are in the "wave from across the room" category. And then there those in the "hug" group - this is where most of my friends fall. The "kisses" group is a much smaller group of people that I am quite close to.

22. Chocolate or vanilla? Excellent chocolate, in very small quantities, so you truly appreciate it, is a wonderful thing. But generally vanilla, as chocolate often gives me a headache.

23. Do you want your friends to e-mail you back? Yes, but I understand when they don't.

24. Who is most likely to respond? I have no idea.

25. Who is least likely to respond? Not a clue.

26. When was the last time you cried? At BlueDuke's funeral.

27. What is under your bed? Winter clothes.

28. Who is the friend that you have had the longest? No idea. The rockrat and I have passed through each others circle of friends since I was in high school but it would be a stretch to say we were friends then. And from college, it would be hard to say who I was friends with first that I am still friends with now.

29. What did you do last night? Watched 1776, ate Chinese food, took the EM and YM to the fireworks.

30. What are you afraid of? I'm with the Squotter on this one.

31. Plain, butter or salted popcorn? Buttered, I guess. That's pretty freakin' trivial....

32. Favorite car? An early '70s VW Beetle, manual transmission, no fuel injector, no rust in the unibody. I am not picky as to the paint color, but if you are taking requests, I would really like a convertable.

33. Favorite flower? Gardenia, if I had to choose one.

34. Number of keys on your key ring? 5. But I don't know what most of them go to. My car keys are really the only ones I ever use and they are not on my key ring.

35. How many years at your current job? I guess that depends on what we count as my current job. Let's just say 2 months.

36. Favorite day of the week? I don't have one.

37. What did you do on your last birthday? Worked. And went grocery shopping.

38. How many states have you lived in? 4 - Virginia, Georgia, Maryland and New York.

39. How many cities have you lived in? I think this is really stretching here. 5 of these are just slightly different localities in the DC area. And I am not sure Blacksburg counts as a city. 9 - Fairfax, Athens, Blacksburg, Falls Church, McLean, Baltimore, Williamsville, Gaithersburg, Kensington.

Past Few Tales


-

Thursday, October 26

Friday, October 20

Thursday, October 19

Wednesday, October 18


Upcoming raids


moon phases