Newest Tale

Older Tales

Mail the Herder

About the Mongols


Leave Me a Note


Do you remember lying in bed with the covers pulled up over your head?

hosted by DiaryLand.com


Tales from the Steppes


2005-06-30

3:06 p.m.

If only my life were more like 1983

I spent the entire day yesterday becoming oriented to my employer, by whom I have been employed for the last four years. A total waste of my day. I stayed up until 2:30am the night before, so that I was looking and feeling my best for this extravaganza. Lack of sleep always puts me in a bullshit tolerant mood.

I have always been amused at the great lengths Management Services will go to demonstrate their great worth and necessity. During the course of the day I learned such important things like "Attitude determines altitude", "We become what we think" and "Associate with positive people." Yeah, I actually took notes because otherwise I might not remember these platitudunal gems. However have I gotten through life without understanding that "Attitude + Aptitude = Success" Someone had apparently spent too much time with their Succesories calendar.

11:18 a.m.

This is definitely going to take some work to get the template right so bear with me as I futz.

10:54 a.m.
Thursday, June 30

This is an experiment with a new format, moving to a log-style. I have no idea whether it will work or not but it may better reflect my current time management style. I have found that it usually takes me about an hour to update and I no longer have discrete hours to do this in. Yes, I know I am slow. One solution would be to have a separate document that I write in sporadically and then post when I am done. But given that this weblog option exists, I am not sure why I should change my behavior instead of modifying the technology to fit my needs.

I do have some misgivings about this move. It is possible that by writing for longer periods of time instead of sporadically posting, I am forcing myself to refine my thoughts more instead of just spewing. It is possible that I am overthinking this and changing formats will have no effect.

Past Few Tales


-

Thursday, October 26

Friday, October 20

Thursday, October 19

Wednesday, October 18


Upcoming raids


moon phases