Newest Tale

Older Tales

Mail the Herder

About the Mongols


Leave Me a Note


Some people claim there's a woman to blame, Now I think --- hell, it could be my fault

hosted by DiaryLand.com


Tales from the Steppes


2005-06-16

4:15 p.m.
Have you come here for forgiveness, Have you come to raise the dead

A new novel by John Crowley - "Lord Byron's Novel: The Evening Land." Just out. I am exercising self-control and not ordering it from Amazon. Yet. Must practice self-control. Yeah, I know. Why start now? Some of the reviewers have said that it is better than "Little, Big." I am having problems imagining that.

Yesterday was the last day of school for the mongols. I don't think the YM really understands that he is not going back to his preschool ever again. This is probably not such a bad thing, as he tends to stress about transitions if he knows they are occurring. He took a dozen red roses to school so he could hand them out to all of his teachers. I tried to convince him to go for a different color but no, red was it. It was really cute to see him walk up to each teacher and gently pull out a rose and give it to her or him. I realize this sounds very cheap compared to what many parents do, no trips to Montana here, but he has so many teachers it starts to become impractical. Besides, this way it was from him and not me. Not that I don't appreciate them as well, but he was the one the took care of, taught, put up with. Even when he was rotten.

The EM had her first real dance last night and seemed to have a good time. Even though David didn't invite her. David is the 5th grade boy that all of the girls like. He lives close to us and is often in the park across the street from our house. Every day I hear something new about David, some girl chasing after him, something he said on the bus. I say "Leave David alone" but my words fall on deaf ears. Not that she would chase him - the EM is a bit shy for that. I suppose I should be happy that she tells me so much. I am. But I am tired of hearing about David.

This spring, the EM had sex ed and was completely grossed out by it. Completely. As in refers to penises as "thingies." I suggested she could do better than that but she refused to even try. I am strangely comforted by this. This is not her first exposure to the subject, as I had gotten her a copy of "The Care and Keeping of You" and she had no questions after reading that. I am reasonably sure that when she does start with the questions, I can address the major issues with great confidence ie. do as I did - wait until you are legally responsible for your own body. And yes, that was a conscious decision, not a happy coincedence. It is the minor questions I don't really want to answer. "How old were you when you started dating?" Mumble mumble mumble. "When did you get your first kiss?" Mumble mumble mumble. And on and on. The tact I have decided to take is creative not-answering-the-question-I-hope-you-don't-notice-this, which is my standard response when I will not lie but yet do not wish to discuss a topic. "You know, everyone's experiences vary. Some people do this, some people do that, this is what I suggest."

I do not even want to think about the MM and sex ed. He will talk about body parts and emissions quite loudly and in great detail. In public. I have three years to teach the boy some manners but it is an uphill fight. So far I have been unable to make much of an impression. This might be because the SU tells him things like "Don't burp at the table when your mom is around" but more likely it is something innate. Especially with his younger brother to laugh at him.

Past Few Tales


-

Thursday, October 26

Friday, October 20

Thursday, October 19

Wednesday, October 18


Upcoming raids


moon phases