Newest Tale

Older Tales

Mail the Herder

About the Mongols


Leave Me a Note


Billy was a mountain, Ethell was a tree, Growing on his shoulder

hosted by DiaryLand.com


Tales from the Steppes


2005-06-08

11:38 a.m.
And I realized my heart had abducted my mind and they were last seen headed south

Today is Frank Lloyd Wright's birthday and I have been trying to decide how to celebrate. Perhaps sculpt mashed taters into a model of the Gugenheim. Or not.

I think part of my celebration will be NOT attending a 2nd grade parent's meeting about the GT process. I checked the County's web site already and understand the process of selection for the center-based program. Other than that, the GT designation means essentially nothing. Oh, you can go to Saturday enrichment things at Montgomery College. Woohoo.

I just don't like attending meetings with parents that think their little ray of sunshine is more special than any other parent's little ray of sunshine. We all think our children are special but every child is special. I definitely have a pet peeve about parents who seem to want you to acknowledge that their child is the smartest, most attractive, talent-filled prodigy to ever walk the earth. And your child might not be fit to be in the same class as this creature of light. When I went to meetings about the performing arts magnet school that the EM is going to next fall, there were parents who did not apply to the school because you did not have to audition to get in. Ohmygod, someone with less talent, or maybe even no talent but just a desire, might be in the same class as their wunderkid. I am sure their child would not survive the cooties they would suffer from the experience.

Am I proud of the MM? Of course, I am his mother. But I think I can pass on the jockeying to see who has the smartest kid, who needs the most enrichment. Parents who do not realize that their view of their child is majorly skewed are delusionary. Your "little princess" is probably someone else's "pain in the ass."

This is not to say that there aren't some kids that are really in a different leaugue and need special treatment. LL comes to mind as one of those kids. But I cannot count the number of times I have heard the parent of some 3 year old talk about how they are looking into a special school for their child because they are just so much brighter than every other child. Would the MM be happier in a center-based school? I am sure. And if he is eligble to go, he can apply to. But it will not be through my celebration of his specialness.

This is probably a bit excessive but I did say it was a pet peeve. And if you have ever had to sit through one of these, you know what I am talking about. If it was up to me, these parents would be occupying the same circle of hell as the people who forget their sunglasses constantly whe driving. What a surprise! The sun sets in the west. I never knew that. Do you think everyone behind me will mind me driving 20 mph under the speed limit because I have to cock my head just so, otherwise I am blind?

Don't ask me what any of this has to do with Frank Lloyd Wright's birthday. About as much as a Christmas tree has to do with Jesus. At least I am celebrating on the right day. And I did spare you a long musing about FLW's spatial qualities and just why he is so fab.

Past Few Tales


-

Thursday, October 26

Friday, October 20

Thursday, October 19

Wednesday, October 18


Upcoming raids


moon phases