Newest Tale

Older Tales

Mail the Herder

About the Mongols


Leave Me a Note


Your love is better than ice cream, Better than anything else that I've tried

hosted by DiaryLand.com


Tales from the Steppes


2005-05-16

9:15 a.m.
We wouldn't need to worry about approval or permission, we could slip off the edge and never worry about the fall

Well I did it. Not with style or speed - that will come with time and practice. But I did finish and made all of my goals, which admittedly were not lofty ones. Next time, when I have an idea of what I am doing and how to pace myself, I will finish with better times. I made a ton of mistakes including not wearing the damn wetsuit, so that my muscles froze upon hitting the chilly water, and not having my stuff setup correctly in the transition area. I now fully appreciate the differences between a road bike and a mountain bike. I only have a mountain bike and it is a bit demoralizing how much slower it is on the road.

I have to admit that by the time I hit the running portion of the course, my right knee was most unhappy with me. With every step, it felt like someone was jamming a knitting needle behind my kneecap. But I certainly was not going to quit. One of the things I thought about as I s l o w l y ran along was sending a "so there" note to the orthopaed who performed my first knee surgery. After the surgery, he told me that I would never run again and I would be lucky if I walked without a limp. In a fit of temper, I threw away all of my trophies, as I did not want to be reminded of what I could no longer do. So perhaps I will never win my age group. That's ok. I will do the best I can do, now. It will just have to do.

The YM is "Pre-K"er of the week at his preschool, so there is a full schedule of stuff I have to send in this week. Last night I prepared a poster of pictures of him through the years to send in. It was actually a very fun exercise, partly because he is incredibly photogenic. The other fun was trying to figure out when his curls first appeared. He certainly wasn't born with them. His first Halloween, I put a rainbow afro on him and carried him out with his brother and sister. Perhaps there was something in the wig that caused his hair to imitate it because a few months later it turned into ringlets.

I came in today to find that the Skullmaster is actually present and seems to be ridiculously normal. He is not even a wildlife biologist though - mostly does forest delineation. Perhaps I will wait until I know him a bit better before I broach the subject of all the skulls.

Past Few Tales


-

Thursday, October 26

Friday, October 20

Thursday, October 19

Wednesday, October 18


Upcoming raids


moon phases