Newest Tale

Older Tales

Mail the Herder

About the Mongols


Leave Me a Note


Never knowing who or what you are until you're, Living with the unfamiliar

hosted by DiaryLand.com


Tales from the Steppes


2005-04-11

10:53 a.m.
Live a life less ordinary, Live a life extraordinary with me

I had a fabulous weekend. I spent most of Saturday and Sunday outside, so how bad could it have been? Saturday was the Cherry Blossom Festival downtown. I took the younger Mongols down to see some friends do their martial arts thing. I enjoy watching friends focus on an activity that has meaning to them, even if it isn't my thing. It isn't that I don't see the value of doing katas - I would just be too tempted to break out and go for an opening.

After the Cherry Blossom Festival, the YM insisted that we go actually see the cherries. Fair enough, we have always gone and taken a picnic. But the Cherry Blossom Festival is nowhere near the actual trees so I led yet another Bataan death march. We were close enough to see them when the boys decided they could not go any further. So we had to turn around and walk all the way back.

You know, I'm even boring myself here. So never mind. We'll see if I can think of something slightly more amusing and/or informative to write later. I guess I could just erase the above, but I've already written it so it stays. Maybe if I write a little more on my thesis, my weekend will not seem so boring in retrospect. Maybe not boring but unexciting. I mean the orienteering meet on Sunday was not boring - it was a ton of fun- but no one died, we encountered no wild animals, nothing really happened. Mud doesn't count as unexpected.

Past Few Tales


-

Thursday, October 26

Friday, October 20

Thursday, October 19

Wednesday, October 18


Upcoming raids


moon phases