Newest Tale

Older Tales

Mail the Herder

About the Mongols


Leave Me a Note


Juliet, the dice was loaded from the start

hosted by DiaryLand.com


Tales from the Steppes


2005-03-18

10:49 a.m.
Dawn is breaking everywhere, light a candle, curse the glare

My interview last night went as well as it possibly could have, given that I have never performed any of the functions associated with it. Sure, I know how to delineate a wetland and inventory a forest stand but I have no job experience that supports that knowledge. From my point of view, the actual experience is a mere technicality and the other aspects of the job - negotiating with developers, applying the zoning code, working within the Commission, are the trickier issues.

I wasn't particularly nervous about the interview. If I had known that there were going to be 5 pages of questions, many of them technical, I probably would have been. Some of the questions were on general theory. Like "What is the function of a riparian buffer?" Others were very specific. Like "If a developer comes in with a property that was subdivided before the Forest Conservation Law, but it was never platted, and now wants it platted and developed under the old guidelines, what do you do?" Yak. Once I started answering the questions, I found that I actually did know what I was talking about. In a way, I surprised myself with some of the depth I was able to dredge up. And whether I get the job or not, it seemed to go quite well. I am not even sure I want the job at this point, as it would slow down my thesis work. But it is always good to have options.

The SU had another meeting with the new owners of the company he was working at when I met him, LKC. I am completely confused on this particular issue. He hated the job when he was there but now he is talking about going back? It is not like there is any urgency to his getting a new job. I understand that a lot has changed since he left. I still think it is better to move forward than backwards myself.

Past Few Tales


-

Thursday, October 26

Friday, October 20

Thursday, October 19

Wednesday, October 18


Upcoming raids


moon phases