Newest Tale

Older Tales

Mail the Herder

About the Mongols


Leave Me a Note


Drop your bombs between the minarets, Down the casbah way

hosted by DiaryLand.com


Tales from the Steppes


2005-03-15

11:07 p.m.
Death's head belt buckle, yesterday's dreams

Today, for the first time in more than three weeks, I woke up without a killer headache. O frabjous day! To go from a constant headache to a now intermittent one is such a big relief. The current theory is that in my last accident I may have sustained a bit of whiplash or some sort of soft tissue injury to my neck. Last night I spent a long time under the ministrations of Steve, the massage therapist with the wonderful hands, and today I feel so much better. My neck still crackles when I move it and I have to be careful how I hold my head but I am sure these things will pass. If I am patient and don't try and rush this healing process.

Today was the final hearing on the Master Plan that I have been working on for nearly 4 years. It feels very strange to be done with the one project that has consumed my working hours for so long. I do not think I will miss working in this particular community, as some of the local activists were complete pain in the asses. Beyond my personal feelings about them, these activists did a major diservice to their community by focussing on one minor land use issue and so other more important issues were not as well-discussed because the politicians have a discourse with whoever is making the noise. In the end, while they were successful in hijacking the discussion, the votes did not go their way and they will have affordable housing in their backyard.

And that makes me smile.

Not maliciously though. I truly believe that affordable housing belongs everywhere, including where I live. Well, ok. I do derive a certain satisfaction in the knowledge that "those people" will be able to live in the same area as these particular activists.

It was quite surreal to walk in my bedroom last Friday and find the SU lying on the bed, watching the public hearing from earlier last week. On the one hand, it was kind of fun for him to see the people and process that I have been going through. On the other hand, if I got to choose an activity from my life to revisit, this would not be my pick.

Past Few Tales


-

Thursday, October 26

Friday, October 20

Thursday, October 19

Wednesday, October 18


Upcoming raids


moon phases