Newest Tale

Older Tales

Mail the Herder

About the Mongols


Leave Me a Note


Go ahead and split, Mr. Amoeba Man

hosted by DiaryLand.com


Tales from the Steppes


2005-03-09

7:15 a.m.
Jealousy, turning saints into the sea, Swimming through sick lullabies

With the start of the taper down on the steroids, I have discovered something - they were actually doing something. Yesterday I noticed that the headache had gotten worse and this morning I awoke to find that someone had given the dwarf a bigger hammer. The other dwarf with the knotting needles has stopped jabbing but just maintains a constant kind of pressure. So I guess this means that the antibiotics were not the right ones to kill this infection. Hopefully I can get in to see an ENT who can give me the right drugs to make this all go away, though I suspect it might involve more steroids to go with new antibiotics.

The last few weeks have been frustrating from a professional/school standpoint. On Monday I discovered that someone had spilled a liquid on a roll of drawings that were on my desk. Obliterated a portion of that figure-ground I had spent so long on. Totally pissed me off. We all have our own desks and I am having a problem with my space being used by others to put things on. I don't know the two guys I am sandwiched between so I have tried to be really nice and low-key about it. I did make some noise when I found my drawings crumpled with the ink all smeared from water but it was not accusatory or directed at anyone and I am hoping they got a clue. We will see what I find tomorrow.

Yesterday was supposed to be the final County Council meeting on a master plan that I have worked on for the last 3 1/2 years. But no, they couldn't wrap it up and sent us back with more work to produce for next week. Unfortunately, I am supposed to be at an information technology training thing all day today. And tomorrow is a dental appointment and class. This leaves me Friday to get everything done the Council wants. Assuming my head stops hurting.

This last weekend, I made a hat. Now this might not seem like anything extraordinary to most people but for me it was quite unusual. I do not generally produce anything, except for drawings, but instead spend my time "doing" rather than making. But I couldn't think, read anything of quality, or write so I was left with mindless work and television while supervising the EM's party. So I knitted, wove, loomed, whatevered a hat. And now all the Mongols are excited about it. Yesterday we went and got more yarn to make more hats with and I am teaching the EM how to do this. As part of the starting process, we measured everyone's heads to see which looms we needed to use. This is when I discovered that the only person in my family with a smaller head than myself was the YM, by ~1/2". Now that is depressing.

I am not completely sure how the SU's job search is going. When asked, I provide whatever advice I feel qualified to dispense. But mostly I try and stay out of it. He is going to do whatever he is going to do, no matter what I might happen to think.

Past Few Tales


-

Thursday, October 26

Friday, October 20

Thursday, October 19

Wednesday, October 18


Upcoming raids


moon phases