Newest Tale

Older Tales

Mail the Herder

About the Mongols


Leave Me a Note


I've got depraved chimps dressed up in women's underwear

hosted by DiaryLand.com


Tales from the Steppes


2005-03-08

3:18 a.m.
Go ahead and split, Mr. Amoeba Man

I guess success is all in the way you define it. For example, if I were to consider success as being not yelling at anyone who was not yelling at me first and walking away before losing my temper, then last weekend was a success. I suspect that by most other measures it would be considered a disaster. While the various medications did not contribute to the yelling - most of it was not me, they did contribute to perhaps an excess of honesty. I am not certain that this was such a bad thing, though the timing is less than preferred. So it goes.

Saturday night was the EM's very late birthday party. It was a sleepover at a hotel with an indoor pool. We had connecting suites so she could have her party and I could hang out in the room next door and do my thing. All seemed to enjoy themselves though I was pretty tired out from it on Sunday.

The dwarves are still in attendance. I am hoping that when the drugs have all cleared my system, sometime on Thursday, they will take them away with them. I have work to do and this is getting annoying. I am tired of being stupid and too talkative for no reason. These are not traits I find attractive in others and I certainly don't appreciate them in myself.

Today I met with my second, Paul, to bring him up to speed on the changes I made to reflect his comments. I was a bit apprehensive as Claire had already had her crit and she said he was being hormonal. But it actually went very well and he was quite positive about the changes and the way I was reframing the issues in response. And he showed admirable restraint in not getting in my face about the quantity of work I have produced recently. I am quite pleased though in desperate need of the ability to work.

I was reading the paper online today and came across this article: http://www.washingtonpost.com/wp-dyn/articles/A15644-2005Mar7.html While I am very fond of Betty - there first CD is my morning alarm, I would see them anyway in remembrance of two of their members' mother. Selma Ziff was my 6th grade teacher and is someone I credit for making major changes in my life. While I have had many excellent teachers over the years, she stands head and shoulders above them all. While the program I was in made it easier for her to be creative, she worked tirelessly to open our eyes to the world around us. "Julius Caesar" was our sixth grade play, which we pulled off very impressively given that there were only 18 of us in the class. Mrs. Ziff had us learning through simulation games, researching and presenting consumer product information, and reading books like Two Years Before the Mast, Farenheit 451, and Call of the Wild. I did not realize at the time what hard work it must have been to keep us so busy. Beyond that, she had to manage a classroom full of eccentrics, know-it-alls and divas. Everyone was weird and exceptional in some sort of way. The first time I went to see Betty, I did not realize they were Mrs. Ziff's daughters until I read the program. Instead of having a legal cd, I had an illegal tape so I had none of the album credits before that night. I made the connection because Mrs. Ziff had told me that one of her daughters was named Amy and how many Amy Ziffs could there be from DC? So I went up after the show to enquire about my old teacher, only to have them look at me like I was mentally deficient. Because if I had had a cd and read the credits, I would have discovered that Mrs. Ziff had died of breast cancer not that long before the cd was released. Well, I still think of her every morning because her voice was used on the opening of the cd and always remember the many ways that she changed the way I look at the world and I suppose that is as good as it gets.

Past Few Tales


-

Thursday, October 26

Friday, October 20

Thursday, October 19

Wednesday, October 18


Upcoming raids


moon phases